Smothered Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
Pretty good and easy to make. I simmered the meatballs and sauce in my crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Martin Meirs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Check, Virginia, USA
Living In: New Kent, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
My husband loved this. I used a chopper to chop the green pepper and onion, really fine. For the meatballs. I also, took the advise of others and made more sauce. I used 3 cans of soup. Plus, I added a dash of worchestershire, along with garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
This is a great meatball recipe. I hesitated to make this because it sounded like a lot of work, but it really wasn't. Definately better than using frozen meatballs! My friend's mother makes the best meatballs, and I've been asking for her recipe for years, but this is the closest that I've found so far! The meatballs are also good coated with your favorite marinara sauce for spagetti too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
These were excellent and easy! I bought pre-made meatballs, used light sour cream, extra milk and added a little onion and garlic powder. My three year old loved them. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
I used frozen meatballs so it made the receipe easier. I baked the meatballs for about 30 minutes and then pat them dry. Made the sauce and poured them over the meatballs and baked. My family loved it over pasta. My son, who is a picky eater liked. Definitely will make again. Cathy Helms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
DRY!!!! Either half the meatball recipe OR double the soup recipe. The flavor is good, but this recipe really needs more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
These are yummy! Prep takes a little time but it's not difficult at all (my 8 yr old daughter helps make the meatballs) and the results are worth it! I've made this twice, the second time leaving out only the green pepper (I used a little extra onion to help make up the volume of the missing ingredient) at the request of my husband and it was still great! I also made more sauce because my husband loves it, and he's NOT a sour cream fan! I used 3 cans of golden mushroom, a 16 oz container of sour cream, an 8 oz package of fresh mushrooms sliced and about 3/4 cup of milk. I also add a little garlic & onion powder to the sauce to jazz it up, and leave out the salt because it seems unnecessary with all that soup. This is something I know I'll be making for years
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
Very good and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
Very good flavor! I made the meatballs and then put them in a crockpot with the sauce for about 4 hrs. (I didn't add the sour cream until the last 1/2 hr.) The sauce was very rich, almost too rich, and a little thicker than I am used to. I think next time I will try less sour cream and possibly water instead of milk. Overall, excellent!..my boyfriend loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
This was excellent!!! I used frozen meatballs and just madeup the mushroom sauce, which was incredibly tasty. I didn't have sour cream on hand, so I used a half of a block of cream cheese and it was equally fabulous!! Thanks for sharing this one, Jen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States