Smothered Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This is a very basic, simple recipe that has great flavor. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Very tasty! In the future, I will remove the bacon and all but a teaspoon of the drippings from the pan and return the bacon once the green beans are nearly finished. prefer a bit of crispness to the bacon. I may even reduce the bacon by a couple of strips. This dish WAS quite bacon-y. I will definitely make this again, though! Went wonderfully with roast beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Superior, Montana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I was surprised this got high ratings. I didn't like the taste of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slewis0054

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I can't say I loved or hated this recipe. It was different and had a good flavor and supper easy to make. I would make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Pharr, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
"7" Good. Fairly easy and quick to make. Can speed up by finishing cooking in microwave. (SS 7.5.10)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
These were great. I only used half the bacon, but otherwise made as written. One of the best ways I've made green beans so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
What a nice change from boring green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I'm from the south so naturally bacon is a staple for most meals....I found this dish to have the flavor with out being so obviously full of bacon grease...also, on a side note, I did have to cook for a slightly longer amount of time - I'm sure that was just a texture preference....will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Awesome! I didn't add any water for cooking, i prepared a separate pot with boiling water and let the green beans cook for 2 minutes then transfered them to the pan with the bacon. They turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Clunis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
this was good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States