Smothered Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
These are amazing with and without the bacon!! Less calories without the bacon..but VERY YUMMY!! An excellent summer and light side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
We have a version of this recipe every thanksgiving. We call them heart attack green beans. The only difference is we use a large can of Italian green beans (or just regular cut green beans if we can't find the italian) instead of the fresh green beans and skip the addition of the water altogeher. So we brown the bacon, onion and garlic, add the drained green beans, stir to coat and cook just until heated through. We only eat this at the holidays because of the fat content, but EVERYONE loves them and requests them wherever we go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Excellent, we will make this often. Loved having a new way to fix fresh green beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowersnmore

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
These were fantastic. The beans retained their color, but they were premium priced beans so that may have had something to do with it. I would assume just better or more preservatives lol. Once the water cooked down I just let the dish fry a little bit and had a nice mix of crispy and tender bacon as well as giving a better texture to the onions. As the recipe is I think it is a solid 5 star. Reducing it to only 2 slices of bacon reduced the presence of the bacon in the flavor, and probably made it somewhat healthier. Even as is it isn't really unhealthy if it's paired with sensible dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Of course it's good - it has bacon in it. :) Tasty, though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This was awesome!! I made it just as the recipe said and it is really good! Very healthy, (except for the bacon), and a very tasty side-dish! Will keep this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Odessa, Michigan, USA
Living In: Two Rivers, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
AWESOME!! These green beans are delicious! Of course, add enough bacon to anything and you have a delicious meal. I did drain off most of the bacon grease, and I'm glad I did. All that grease would have ruined this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This is a good, old-fashioned, southern country style green bean recipe. I probably overcooked my beans a little but (until they were soft), but I kindof like tham that way. This recipe reminds me of the green bean my grandma used to make. I'll definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Plainville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Delicious! Simple side dish, easy to prepare. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This is sooo good! I made this last night and there are not any left overs! I did use frozen green beans as the fresh did not look good in the store and I fried bacon first and used about 2 tbs. of the baking grease and followed the rest of the recipe. This will be a staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States