Smothered Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Very good. Will definitely make again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I have long been intimidated by fresh green beans and always used canned. I decided to branch out with this recipe. I did not have bacon, so I just used the onion and garlic. It was delicious. I know the bacon would have made it taste even better. I would, however, take the bacon out after I cook it so as not to make the green beans greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I wouldn't have imagined this combination would be so good. I did follow others suggestions and only partially covered the green beans while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leadfoot13us

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
The bacon adds great flavor to the green beans - no added salt needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennysslife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
These are really good and easy! I cooked the bacon in a separate pan and I used about 1 TB. of grease in the other pot. I added the garlic and when it was hot and then dumped in the green beans and water. It took a good 20 min. for the water to evaporate. I also didn't add any onion and left the bacon out until they were all done. I wanted my bacon to be crispy. I will definantly make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I'm a Southern gal, so the bacon in the green beans wasn't new. However, Mom never fixed them like this! I did drain out most of the rendered fat, and I used the baby whole green beans, but stayed true to the recipe after that. Everyone loved them, and hubby went back for thirds! I will make these again, but will probably reserve them for special occasions. Gotta watch those fat grams....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I'm not fond of green beans but these were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Simply, quick, tasty and kid-friendly. The bacon looks watery though in the end, not like those in the picture. Perhaps the recipe omitted statin the bacon had to be withdrawn and re-added after beans are tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mirtus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Try it with fresh asparagus. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
These are amazing with and without the bacon!! Less calories without the bacon..but VERY YUMMY!! An excellent summer and light side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Peoria, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States