Smothered Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This is very tastey & easy to make! When I'm short on time I brown chopped canadian bacon w/onions and add a bag of microwave steamed green beans. Toss to coat & it's ready to serve! My husband & my 4 year old love these green beans!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Sounds good....I am making this right now for my family but I'm using canned green beans, I hope it works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
You can never go wrong with bacon as it always flavor any dish wonderfully. I took a slight detour and blanched the beans in hot water for 1 minute and then set it aside until the bacon, onions and garlic were done cooking. My main concern was losing the green beans bright green color. I removed the bacon, onion and garlic to the side of the pan and added the green beans. I sautéed the green beans in the bacon grease seasoning with Hawaiian sea salt and fresh ground black pepper. The green beans kept their flavor and color. The overall dish was tasty and like I said, you really cannot go wrong with bacon with its crisp salty pork flavor enhancing any dish. This was served with, "Mushroom Stuffed Chicken Rollups," and "Sun-Dried Tomato and Basil Orzo," also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
These are so good. I double the onion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mistress Nicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
By the time the 1 cup of water had disappeared the green beans were mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
These are really great! I cooked my green beans in chicken broth instead of water, and I added about 4-5 small red potatoes and they turned out really good! I've already made them twice!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
so yummy. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This was great! I removed the bacon & added it back in after the beans were done cooking, I didn't want it to get soggy. I also just realized I forgot the garlic, oops - we didn't miss it though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
pretty tasty. everyone loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
These green beans remind me of the ultimate comfort food. They are so flavorful and greasy and yummy. I could eat them everyday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States