Smothered Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Cooked 6 strips of bacon. Then carmelized 3 onions in about 3 Tbsp of the bacon fat. Amazing!! Served for Thanksgiving, and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Delicious! I made this as a side dish for my husbands visiting family. My mother in law said she never liked green beans, but these were the best she'd ever had, and now she would give green beans another chance. I doubled the recipe, but still could have had more. Better make a few extra servings because this one is a sure HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Delicious! My whole family loved this dish. I made sure that the bacon was fully cooked before I added the onions and garlic; otherwise, the onions became overcooked. Added generous amount of sea salt and fresh ground pepper at the end. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe I am now making my second batch of green beans your way.....These are the best ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delray Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Rave reviews from all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Even though it is not the healthiest preparation of a vegetable, it sure is delicious! And fairly easy to do. The hardest part is breaking the ends off the green beans, should you choose to do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Loved these green beans!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This was delicious! Similar to green beans I've had at southern restaurants. I did cut the bacon to 4 slices because I just couldn't bring myself to use 6 and there was still enough bacon for every serving to have some in it. Next time I will use 3, just being health conscious. I used a bag of frozen petite string beans. My kids don't like veggies and ate these without complaining!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This was a fast and flavorful recipe to an otherwise dull vegetable, which paired well with grilled Tilapia. The bacon, garlic and onion gave it the needed punch to compliment the beans. In turn, received compliments from the kiddos who prior had professed they would never eat green beans. Hats off to the cook who shared this recipe. It.'s definitely going into the recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hapazap

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA
Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Was my fav German recipe so far
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States