Smothered Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
The only recipe change I made was to use chicken stock instead of water. Perfectly delicious. Really, what isn't, if it has bacon in it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Have used this recipe for years, but I traditionally drain the bacon grease before cooking the garlic and onion as I have found that it tends to overpower the other flavors found in this recipe and add the bacon back prior to serving. Chicken broth vs water also gives a better flavor to the finished dish. Easy to modify to your own family's taste buds, ie., add mushrooms, toasted almonds, even gorgonzola cheese. Thanks Michele for a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This was great! I drained most of the bacon fat away before taking the next step to make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Outstanding, very flavor deep! I started to put the beans in a steamer and decided to just follow the dang recipe, and i'm so glad I did! Excellent mouth feel and taste for days, I will be having this many many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ziggymackenzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Old Fort, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
I like the method of cooking where the liquid is boiled away instead of poured off, which keeps you from losing a lot of the nutrients from the beans. I would probably drain off a little bit of the fat next time, but love this recipe anyway. I doubled the recipe and used a whole pack of thick sliced bacon. I also used a can (2 cups) of chicken broth instead of water. I am usually not a fan of green beans at all, but I can't stop eating them! Will definitely cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I love this recipe, the only thing I change is that I add a heaping tablespoon of minced garlic to the sauce because we love garlic. my family begs me to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by angie
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
So i tweeked this a bit instead of water I used bacon dripping I also added baby bello mushrooms also added a tablespoon of Rosemary and garlic powder as well as fresh minced garlic and 1/4 cup chicken broth all together this recipe was very yummy loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I added a little Cajun seasoning after cooking because we both enjoy a kick with our food, but I followed the rest of the recipe as is. It turned out extremely well and I will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I made it as a side dish for dinner...delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
These green beans are the BEST I have EVER had. I followed one reviewers advice and cooked mine for a few minutes first. I also only used 5 strips of bacon (not that, that REALLY matters). Anyway, it was freaking AWESOME! I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States