Smothered Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This is sooo good! I made this last night and there are not any left overs! I did use frozen green beans as the fresh did not look good in the store and I fried bacon first and used about 2 tbs. of the baking grease and followed the rest of the recipe. This will be a staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I had some cans of green beans I needed to use up so I used two cans instead of fresh cut beans. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Good, not great. I did pour out all but a little grease and set the bacon aside to the end, as suggested. I also added almonds at the end as well. It still wasn't everything I hoped for, but I'll make it again and see if I can improve on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I LOVE this recipe and so did my family. Very YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This smelled amazing cooking! I halfed the amount of bacon and added extra garlic. They are a little greasy but that's southern style green beans ya'll. I will try other suggestions next time and drain the grease. For health's sake. Can't beat fresh green beans and their cheap. Just make sure you cook em 3 or 4 days after you buy em
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hampton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Loved these! I didn't change a thing, except I added some sugar while they were cooking. Just a sprinkle! Yummy! They did take longer than 30 minutes, for me, and I had to add more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I make this a lot in the summer time. We add diced up new potatoes to ours too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lnicker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
With bacon...,hmmm..., it's great. But when I cook the green beans, I always fry them with mashed meat. It's Chinese style and also very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Awesome! Added a little more bacon, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jncarter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakley, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I made this awhile back but forgot to rate or make notes to it but I do agree with naples34102 on the first page regarding the cooking method. I should have read it before hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States