Smothered Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by angie
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
So i tweeked this a bit instead of water I used bacon dripping I also added baby bello mushrooms also added a tablespoon of Rosemary and garlic powder as well as fresh minced garlic and 1/4 cup chicken broth all together this recipe was very yummy loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I added a little Cajun seasoning after cooking because we both enjoy a kick with our food, but I followed the rest of the recipe as is. It turned out extremely well and I will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I made it as a side dish for dinner...delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
These green beans are the BEST I have EVER had. I followed one reviewers advice and cooked mine for a few minutes first. I also only used 5 strips of bacon (not that, that REALLY matters). Anyway, it was freaking AWESOME! I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
So very good! I used a bit more bacon than called for, but nobody seemed to mind. Everybody ate up their green beans, even the pickiest among our group.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Cooked 6 strips of bacon. Then carmelized 3 onions in about 3 Tbsp of the bacon fat. Amazing!! Served for Thanksgiving, and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Delicious! I made this as a side dish for my husbands visiting family. My mother in law said she never liked green beans, but these were the best she'd ever had, and now she would give green beans another chance. I doubled the recipe, but still could have had more. Better make a few extra servings because this one is a sure HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Delicious! My whole family loved this dish. I made sure that the bacon was fully cooked before I added the onions and garlic; otherwise, the onions became overcooked. Added generous amount of sea salt and fresh ground pepper at the end. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe I am now making my second batch of green beans your way.....These are the best ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delray Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Rave reviews from all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 372) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States