Smothered Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
My gosh these are good! I made them today, and what a hit... It's already been suggested that I make them again. I followed some advise from others, and used chicken broth instead of water, just a couple tbls. of bacon fat, and added the bacon when the beans were done. I cooked the bacon crisp in whole strip, then broke it up in pieces and removed a lot of the fat. I used regular bacon - a pound of it (don't forget that I tore off almost all of the fat, so it really wasn't a whole pound). I cooked the bacon, onion, and garlic ahead of time, so all I had to do was cook the beans and add the bacon just before we ate.. Served to guests along with "Key West Chicken", also from this site, fresh corn on the cob, and a cold cabbage and pepper salad that I make. coffee, peach pie (also from this site), and vanilla ice cream topped it off. Fabulous dinner... thanks so, so much for sharing. You can bet I'll be making these again. Oh, what flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
Only giving a 4 star because I like crispy bacon and can't stand anything else. Think I know how to get around it hopefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Donald

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
It is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zswanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
This turned out great! I cooked the bacon in oven rather than fried on stove and reserved acouple tablespoons of the grease to fry onions and garlic. Used 1c of chicken broth instead of water. Did not add salt just pepper. Yum this one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Easy for family picnic, I just tripled the recipe. I kept about half the bacon grease, and crumbled the bacon while it was still hot. Also, I used frozen green beans (they're fresher than "fresh" beans, unless they come from your garden. After beans were cooked, I put everything in a crock pot and set it for "buffet", or you can use the warm setting. I added the bacon right before we ate so it wasn't soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Four and a half stars but not quite five. Pretty simple concept. Good way to dress up green beans so the kids will eat them. I pre cooked both the bacon and beans separately then threw them together to prevent the dish from being to watery or greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
The only recipe change I made was to use chicken stock instead of water. Perfectly delicious. Really, what isn't, if it has bacon in it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Have used this recipe for years, but I traditionally drain the bacon grease before cooking the garlic and onion as I have found that it tends to overpower the other flavors found in this recipe and add the bacon back prior to serving. Chicken broth vs water also gives a better flavor to the finished dish. Easy to modify to your own family's taste buds, ie., add mushrooms, toasted almonds, even gorgonzola cheese. Thanks Michele for a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This was great! I drained most of the bacon fat away before taking the next step to make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Outstanding, very flavor deep! I started to put the beans in a steamer and decided to just follow the dang recipe, and i'm so glad I did! Excellent mouth feel and taste for days, I will be having this many many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ziggymackenzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Old Fort, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States