Smothered Green Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Bacon has always been a staple in my green beans, but from now on I'll add Worcestershire and brown sugar. I highly recommend this recipe. I tripled the amount of green beans since it was for a picnic. However, I only doubled the bacon, and used only one onion for the whole dish (I thought this was plenty of both, as I didn't want to overpower the beans). Increasing the water for more beans probably was not necessary, as the time it takes to boil off 2 cups of water is about the right amount of time for the beans to get tender. Stirring often will ensure all the beans get their fair share of time in the water. I used a little over 3 cups but wish I hadn't, because there was too much liquid left over and I ended up pouring some of that wonderful sauce down the drain. I was concerned about the amount of Worcestershire in the recipe, but the brown sugar really toned it down and gave the dish a very good flavor. Just a hint of sweetness was a nice compliment to the saltiness of the bacon and the bite in the Worcestershire. The recipe was a hit - everyone wanted to know what that unique flavor was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
I made a few changes which made my family rave! Many mentioned that they thought it was bland and too soft, and I think that is because some of us like green beans more crisp tender. If you use only 1 cup water, only 3T. brown sugar, and 1/4 c. worcestershire sauce, it only takes 20- 30 minutes on medium heat (and partially covered) for the sauce to cook down. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
First, let me say that the flavor of this dish is MAGNIFICENT. But, I had a few problems. I followed the recipe exactly, and my liquid never evaporated. Next time, I will only add one cup of water. Also, I'm not crazy about soggy bacon. I will also remove the bacon after it crisps and put it back in at the end. The flavor should still be there if you saute the onion and garlic in the bacon grease. Maybe then I can give the recipe 5 stars because the flavor is definitely there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CT_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Windsor Locks, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I have made this dish so many times I could now do it with my eyes closed. My family and freinds love it. In an attempt to save money I use canned green beans (drained) and just let everything simmer until most of the liquid is evaporated. It is just as good as using fresh green beans and a heck of a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gaylord, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Loved it Loved it!!! I cut the recipe in half (didn't have that many fresh green beans). Fried the bacon crispy, then removed it; then I finished following the recipe . I added the bacon about 2 minutes before serving just to have it "smothered" also. This is an excellent alternative to just plain green beans. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Desert_Rain
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This was a really good change from your average green bean dishes. The first time I made it using the brown sugar and it was perfect. Then I realized that by omitting the sugar and cutting down on the Worcestershire sauce, this could be a very tasty low-carb dish. So that's how I make it now for my self. If I were to make it for anyone else or bring it to a potluck I would definitely bring the sugar back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShoeGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
The worcestershire sauce is really good... but I like to subtitute marsala wine for the worcestershire sauce and make everythign else the same way, and adding some sliced mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShoeGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Have made this dish twice already. Did not change a thing. Have used both canned and frozen green beans, and it was good both ways. Even the picker eaters in my family love this recipe. Will definitely make over and over again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I had high hopes for this recipe, but I was very disappointed. The tastes just did not seem to mix as well as they could have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
The bacon came out pretty gross and the green beans were cooked in so much bacon grease. Next time I make this I will cook the bacon first and crispy. That's how we like it. I will save some drippings to cook the green beans in and then sprinkle the bacon on top once the green beans are done cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GIANNA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States