Smothered Green Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Don't shy away from using turkey neck broth for this southern delight! Thank you K-Mama for this filling and easy side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AllisonRO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I made this with three cans of french cut green beans and omitted the two cups of water. It was wonderful, took it to a Pot Luck , and they did everything but eat the Bowl..!!!!! Awesome Recipe !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShoeGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
The worcestershire sauce is really good... but I like to subtitute marsala wine for the worcestershire sauce and make everythign else the same way, and adding some sliced mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShoeGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe, although I did make changes after reading several reviews: used 1 large onion, 1 cup of chicken broth instead of water, 3 tbsp brown sugar and 1/4 cup Worcestershire sauce. I simmered on low for 30 minutes and they turned out just how I like them: not crunchy and not mushy. Delicious! This will now be a regular dinner side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2sabes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
the worcestershire sauce was overpowering for our taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Loved it Loved it!!! I cut the recipe in half (didn't have that many fresh green beans). Fried the bacon crispy, then removed it; then I finished following the recipe . I added the bacon about 2 minutes before serving just to have it "smothered" also. This is an excellent alternative to just plain green beans. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Have made this dish twice already. Did not change a thing. Have used both canned and frozen green beans, and it was good both ways. Even the picker eaters in my family love this recipe. Will definitely make over and over again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I didnt use as much bacon or Worcestershire sauce as this recipe called for and it still had way too much of each. Everything smelled great until I added the last 4 ingredients. Next time I'll try with a small amount of w sauce and less bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I would give this a better rating with a few changes. maybe 1/4 cup worcestershire, 2 Tbl. sugar and 3/4 cups of water, if you like your beans crisper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfast, Maine, USA
Living In: Brooks, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I had high hopes for this recipe, but I was very disappointed. The tastes just did not seem to mix as well as they could have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States