Smothered Green Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
This is an amazing recipe. I've made it several times, and none of it has ever gone to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Bacon has always been a staple in my green beans, but from now on I'll add Worcestershire and brown sugar. I highly recommend this recipe. I tripled the amount of green beans since it was for a picnic. However, I only doubled the bacon, and used only one onion for the whole dish (I thought this was plenty of both, as I didn't want to overpower the beans). Increasing the water for more beans probably was not necessary, as the time it takes to boil off 2 cups of water is about the right amount of time for the beans to get tender. Stirring often will ensure all the beans get their fair share of time in the water. I used a little over 3 cups but wish I hadn't, because there was too much liquid left over and I ended up pouring some of that wonderful sauce down the drain. I was concerned about the amount of Worcestershire in the recipe, but the brown sugar really toned it down and gave the dish a very good flavor. Just a hint of sweetness was a nice compliment to the saltiness of the bacon and the bite in the Worcestershire. The recipe was a hit - everyone wanted to know what that unique flavor was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
I don't have a large skillet, so I removed the bacon and then added in step two, with the water. This recipe just made my week! We had it over rice, and then I snuck some more before going to bed. I am going downstairs to finish it shortly. Oh and I didn't let all of the water evaporate so I could use the sauce on the rice--very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayandshy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
I made this tonight as a sidedish for a tuna casserole. My family loved it so much they went back for seconds. Because of the other reviews, I made a few adjustments. I used only one cup water, 1/4 of a lrg onion and 1/4 cup brown sugar and wor. sauce each. It still came out too sweet in the end I put lots of salt and pepper to taste and it came out perfect. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Encino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Yummy!! We loved these my 18 month old even ate them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I made this for New Year's Day for friends & it was a huge success. Very easy & such an unexpected combination of flavors. Will definitely make this a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Living In: Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This was a big hit. And the two cups of water was too much even when I almost doubled the recipe, so a cup should suffice for normal serving size. I'm going to try it next with a bit of finely chopped red bell pepper added for the last few minutes of simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This was a very tasty side dish, easy to make and the leftovers were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Loved it!! Was really deliciouis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Desert_Rain
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This was a really good change from your average green bean dishes. The first time I made it using the brown sugar and it was perfect. Then I realized that by omitting the sugar and cutting down on the Worcestershire sauce, this could be a very tasty low-carb dish. So that's how I make it now for my self. If I were to make it for anyone else or bring it to a potluck I would definitely bring the sugar back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States