Smothered Green Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
This is an amazing recipe. I've made it several times, and none of it has ever gone to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Bacon has always been a staple in my green beans, but from now on I'll add Worcestershire and brown sugar. I highly recommend this recipe. I tripled the amount of green beans since it was for a picnic. However, I only doubled the bacon, and used only one onion for the whole dish (I thought this was plenty of both, as I didn't want to overpower the beans). Increasing the water for more beans probably was not necessary, as the time it takes to boil off 2 cups of water is about the right amount of time for the beans to get tender. Stirring often will ensure all the beans get their fair share of time in the water. I used a little over 3 cups but wish I hadn't, because there was too much liquid left over and I ended up pouring some of that wonderful sauce down the drain. I was concerned about the amount of Worcestershire in the recipe, but the brown sugar really toned it down and gave the dish a very good flavor. Just a hint of sweetness was a nice compliment to the saltiness of the bacon and the bite in the Worcestershire. The recipe was a hit - everyone wanted to know what that unique flavor was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
First, let me say that the flavor of this dish is MAGNIFICENT. But, I had a few problems. I followed the recipe exactly, and my liquid never evaporated. Next time, I will only add one cup of water. Also, I'm not crazy about soggy bacon. I will also remove the bacon after it crisps and put it back in at the end. The flavor should still be there if you saute the onion and garlic in the bacon grease. Maybe then I can give the recipe 5 stars because the flavor is definitely there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CT_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Windsor Locks, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
i was a little diappointed. the worchestershire sauce was too overwehlming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
MY LIQUID DIDN'T ABSORB ALL THE WAY, I ADDED A SMALL AMOUNT OF FLOUR TO TAKE CARE OF THAT PROBLEM. NEXT TIME I'LL USE 1 ONION AND MORE GREEN BEANS.I FLAVOR WAS VERY UNIQUE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Excellent with minor adjustments. I would decrease the bacon to 1/2 lb unless you like bacon a lot. I decreased the Worcestershire and brown sugar to 1/4 cup each and it was still plenty sweet. If you don't like sweet then decrease the sugar further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIEKAE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
I made a few changes which made my family rave! Many mentioned that they thought it was bland and too soft, and I think that is because some of us like green beans more crisp tender. If you use only 1 cup water, only 3T. brown sugar, and 1/4 c. worcestershire sauce, it only takes 20- 30 minutes on medium heat (and partially covered) for the sauce to cook down. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
I don't have a large skillet, so I removed the bacon and then added in step two, with the water. This recipe just made my week! We had it over rice, and then I snuck some more before going to bed. I am going downstairs to finish it shortly. Oh and I didn't let all of the water evaporate so I could use the sauce on the rice--very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayandshy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
I made this tonight as a sidedish for a tuna casserole. My family loved it so much they went back for seconds. Because of the other reviews, I made a few adjustments. I used only one cup water, 1/4 of a lrg onion and 1/4 cup brown sugar and wor. sauce each. It still came out too sweet in the end I put lots of salt and pepper to taste and it came out perfect. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Encino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
These were okay but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States