Smothered Filet Mignon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
This is my recipe and it was changed by Allrecipes after submission. You need to use course ground dijon mustard. I have never tried regular dijon so I don't know how well that would go. Also, just heat up the grill, don't worry about one side being high and the other medium. I never submitted that. This is one of those recipes that you can just eyeball how much blue cheese and onions you want on each filet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
299 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
This was a great twist to an old favorite. Turns out the Dijon works just fine, but I will try the course dijon next time and compare. Used splenda to carmelize my onions rather than sugar and could tell no difference. May wrap the outside of the filets in bacon next time as well...BAM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
WOW! This is fabulous and just melts in your mouth. I used good old Stadium brand mustard, because that is what I had on hand, and let the filets marinate for about 6 hrs. Because I am not a fan of blue cheese, I used goat cheese instead and it was wonderful. I cooked the 2" thick filets to about 160º internal temp. and they came out perfectly, with just a slightly pink color inside. GREAT RECIPE, JDVMD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
The filets were perfect. This was my first time making steak and I was very impressed with myself. They were perfectly done and the flavors went together wonderfully. I marinated for about an houring before grilling on the stove in a grill pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
Great! The only thing I did different was use brown sugar instead of the white, red wine instead of the vinegar, and mixed the blue cheese with cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
Oh my goodness...SO GOOD! I also just used dijon out of a bottle and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOBSEY95

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Durham, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
This was very good!! The only thing I left out was the rosemary because I didn't have any. These steaks were excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
The marinade was ok. I didn't like the flavor the blue cheese gave the dish. It was too overpowering. I don't think I'd make this dish again. I think this would be quite enjoyable for someone who absolutely loves blue cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYLEE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
Absolutely Fantastic! Quick and easy to make. My husband and I ooed and awed with each bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
Love it; a quick and simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Chef John's Manhattan Filet

Turn a strip steak into something more like a filet mignon, only more flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States