Smothered Filet Mignon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
1----This was a poor combination of flavors, and I am sorry that I tried the recipe and wasted this expensive cut of fine meat. The mustard, vinegar, blue chees, and onions are all very strong and fine flavors. Individually these are all marvelous, but combined they fight--like mixing beautiful colors and getting gray! I would not recommend this, and I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
LOVED this recipe! My husband boasted that it was the best steak he ever had! Didn't see that coming:) He's had lots of steak! Wonderful display as well! **NOTE** Make sure your steak is at room temperature before grilling to achieve maximum tenderness! I removed the marinated steak from the fridge and let sit for an additional 30 minutes to reach room temp. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I have followed the recipe exactly and made on several occasions it turned out delicious!!!! Impressive for company
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DEIRDRE7
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I can't give it a full 5 Star because I fudged a little. I didn't have any balsamic vinegar, so I had to substitute some Merlot for the marinade. I also added one glove of fresh pressed garlic to the marinade. Also, after I finished I realized I had inadvertently omitted the mustard...oops! Anyways, even with those (or because of?) this steak was AWESOME! I served it over fresh garlic mashed potatoes with green beans, and it would DEFINITELY rival any steak house. Overall, I would give what I came up with a 5 Star rating...all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEIRDRE7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I made this for my boyfriend after a long day at work and it was better than any other $100+ steakhouse dinner in Chicago alongside green beans and roasted garlic mashed potatoes. My boyfriend was unsure if he liked blue cheese but loved it on his filet... definitely a great addition! I will save this for Valentines Day dinners and special occasions to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This recipe is fabulous! It had great flavor and was one of the best steaks I have ever eaten. My husband loved it too. I added some gorganzola to the blue cheese and it was perfect. I will definitely make this again and can't wait to make it for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
the flavor was really good, especially the steak came out moist and soft. the only thing i was too thrill was that it's too oily so i will cut back on the butter and the oil in the marinade. i didn't really care for the cheese so overall, great steak
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I didn't like the balsamic flavor with the filet (and I normally love balsamic). It takes away from the wonderful flavor of the steak. The onions are good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAFEMME83

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Holy cow...sooo sooo good. I just went to Bobby Flay's steakhouse in AC and my steak didnt even come close to being as good as this one! A must if you like blue cheese and a nice tasty filet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I used rib eyes instead, but OMG these were delicious! I love cheese and never thought to put it on my steak. I have tried it with a couple different cheeses and they are all fabulous. My fav is smoked gouda. Everything goes perfectly together in this recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Chef John's Manhattan Filet

Turn a strip steak into something more like a filet mignon, only more flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States