Smothered Filet Mignon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
dinner party w/steak & fish, & the steak lovers were thrilled w/their selection. Flavorful, & tender this steak was easy to prepare, looked great on the plate & there were no leftovers to be found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibiharuka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I added bacon crumbles for a little more flavor... excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Was delicious! I cooked it for my family and I hardely EVER cook, so they were already a little uneasy leaving dinner up to me..My dad can be hard to please, but he and the rest of the family loved it. Was easy to follow and cook. We've made it again since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Best steak I have ever eaten/made! Oh soooo.....yummy! Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I thought it was very tasty. My meat lover husband not so much. But then again he prefers his steak plain with just a little salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Sunland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsGuice
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This was delicious! I made this for my husband and I for Valentines day...we were both saying mmm mmm good! I left the blue cheese off and pan fried in my cast iron skillet and then put in my broiler for about 10 minutes. It was absolutely great! A wonderful way to end our Valentines day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsGuice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA
Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I am reviewing the marinade only, as we used a cream sauce with onion and blue cheese for the topping instead (from the tasty kitchen site...very good, by the way). The marinade did impart some sweetness to the filets (my boyfriend commented on the sweetness immediately with the first bite), but other than that, I didn't think it did anything for the steaks in terms of flavor. Also, for those who are planning on searing the steaks indoors, take note: the balsamic vinegar caused problems when I went to pan-sear the steaks. I patted the steaks dry, removing as much moisture as possible from the marinade, and used Mark Bittman's technique for searing that requires less heat than normal (a method I have used over and over again with great success and zero smoke). The balsamic vinegar burned almost immediately, even on moderate heat, filling the kitchen with particularly acrid smoke. While the steaks were cooked to a lovely medium rare, the burnt balsamic black crust was a detraction. That being said, I think the onion-blue cheese combo is a nice touch, and our cream sauce used similar flavors - all I did differently was add cream to the onions after they were caramelized, reduced that by about half, and then melted some blue cheese into the sauce - a nice option if you want a milder blue cheese flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Delicious! Definitely let FM sit out for 1/2 hour...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Washington, New York, USA
Living In: Duxbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
One of the most delicious steaks I have ever eaten! Fantastic recipe! And very easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KP1219

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Chef John's Manhattan Filet

Turn a strip steak into something more like a filet mignon, only more flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States