Smothered Filet Mignon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I added bacon crumbles for a little more flavor... excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Was delicious! I cooked it for my family and I hardely EVER cook, so they were already a little uneasy leaving dinner up to me..My dad can be hard to please, but he and the rest of the family loved it. Was easy to follow and cook. We've made it again since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Best steak I have ever eaten/made! Oh soooo.....yummy! Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I thought it was very tasty. My meat lover husband not so much. But then again he prefers his steak plain with just a little salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Sunland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsGuice
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This was delicious! I made this for my husband and I for Valentines day...we were both saying mmm mmm good! I left the blue cheese off and pan fried in my cast iron skillet and then put in my broiler for about 10 minutes. It was absolutely great! A wonderful way to end our Valentines day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsGuice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA
Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I am reviewing the marinade only, as we used a cream sauce with onion and blue cheese for the topping instead (from the tasty kitchen site...very good, by the way). The marinade did impart some sweetness to the filets (my boyfriend commented on the sweetness immediately with the first bite), but other than that, I didn't think it did anything for the steaks in terms of flavor. Also, for those who are planning on searing the steaks indoors, take note: the balsamic vinegar caused problems when I went to pan-sear the steaks. I patted the steaks dry, removing as much moisture as possible from the marinade, and used Mark Bittman's technique for searing that requires less heat than normal (a method I have used over and over again with great success and zero smoke). The balsamic vinegar burned almost immediately, even on moderate heat, filling the kitchen with particularly acrid smoke. While the steaks were cooked to a lovely medium rare, the burnt balsamic black crust was a detraction. That being said, I think the onion-blue cheese combo is a nice touch, and our cream sauce used similar flavors - all I did differently was add cream to the onions after they were caramelized, reduced that by about half, and then melted some blue cheese into the sauce - a nice option if you want a milder blue cheese flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Delicious! Definitely let FM sit out for 1/2 hour...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Washington, New York, USA
Living In: Duxbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
One of the most delicious steaks I have ever eaten! Fantastic recipe! And very easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KP1219

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
1----This was a poor combination of flavors, and I am sorry that I tried the recipe and wasted this expensive cut of fine meat. The mustard, vinegar, blue chees, and onions are all very strong and fine flavors. Individually these are all marvelous, but combined they fight--like mixing beautiful colors and getting gray! I would not recommend this, and I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
LOVED this recipe! My husband boasted that it was the best steak he ever had! Didn't see that coming:) He's had lots of steak! Wonderful display as well! **NOTE** Make sure your steak is at room temperature before grilling to achieve maximum tenderness! I removed the marinated steak from the fridge and let sit for an additional 30 minutes to reach room temp. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Chef John's Manhattan Filet

Turn a strip steak into something more like a filet mignon, only more flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States