Smothered Filet Mignon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Sauce needed my zip so I added some rice vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Fantastic recipe! I am not a steak eater, but once a year will eat a filet. This was our first attempt at grilling them at home. My husband did a great job with the grilling of the steaks. The instruction/heat time was perfect for a medium-rare steak. The flavor was outstanding, and the bleu cheese was a perfect topping. Served these with 'Grilled Rock Lobster Tails', 'Grilled Sweet Onion' both from AR and grilled Parmesan green beans. Definitely a 5-star meal tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I didn't have Rosemary or Blue Cheese and somehow managed to forget the sugar and onions (duh), but it still was absolutely FANTASTIC!!! This will be the only way I cook a filet from now on. Oh, I also didn't have Dijon, so I just used another spicy mustard I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKANANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Elkview, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Delicious favors!! Definitely a keeper!; My husband loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Let me start by saying I don't really care for steak, so covering it in cheese and other goodness was sort of a brilliant idea to me. I couldn't find filet mignon at our commissary anywhere so I went with 4 strip steaks and they worked fine. Everyone really loved this. Except me. I mean the toppings were tasty and all but the steak still tasted just like... well, steak. I didn't think the marinade did much for it. On the upside, I left two of the steaks in the marinade overnight and cooked them today, sliced thin and had steak salad for lunch. That was superb. I might make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
What a wonderful balance, I didn't Have Dijon, rather a Spicy Brown Mustard, nor did I have blue cheese, so I just smothered the filet in the caramelized onions. The dish turned out perfect. I had a nice bottle of Affentaler Valley of the Monkey Baden Pinot Nior to match the meal. Thanks for the excellent posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph Ditt
Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Excellent! So easy to make and very flavorful. The balsamic marinade is excellent. I used dijon and will again. I also used sweet onions and omitted the sugar, there is no need for it. My husband loved it. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This recipe is great when you cannot afford a fillet mignon this will also work well with a london broil and chicken breast if you want to change it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
I used coarse ground mustard in lieu of plain dijon mustard (it was what I had on hand) and omitted the onions out of personal preference, but the marinade was delicious. Very simple and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Loved it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by truckin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Chef John's Manhattan Filet

Turn a strip steak into something more like a filet mignon, only more flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States