Smothered Collard Greens and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Easy to make. My family liked it. Was not able to find the greens seasoning. Turn out just as well. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjbrowneyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
It was a very good. I made it for christmas and it was a hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Took a bit longer for my greens to tenderize, but it didn't matter..the end result was absolutely awesome. I've been looking for this recipe for a while; my grandmother made greens just like this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I've been smothering cabbage and kale with bacon and onion for years so was so glad to see that it's a favorite with others. It's great to keep in the fridge so whenever I want a "snack" to tide me over, I warm up a bowl of this in the micro. More recipies like this please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
A-MA-ZING! Sooo easy and nutritious = high in Vit C and A. My neighbor is an ole' southern boy and he raves about smothered cabbage. It's the only thing he can make. He's in the produce industry and gives all us transplant northerners seriously fresh cabbage. Now I know what to do with it. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I made this dish with my Easter dinner, without the greens(didn't have any) but it still was very good.I did add extra greens seasoning. My daughter who doesn't like cabbage went back for seconds!! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I have ben looking for this recipe forever! It is delicious! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Wow amazing greens! My kids even loved them and I can't get them to eat greens much.This is one of our favorite dish for this fall season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aspen3

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Made this exactly as it was printed but added precooked tortellini for the last 5 minutes of cooking - EXCELLENT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
OK, so I had never made collard greens or even ate them much...I always heard they were hard to get right. Well, this recipe with the cabbage and the bacon is so easy and simply and oh sooooo sinful!!!! I added red pepper flake to mine as it was frying but that's all I changed since I like things a little spicy. I will be making this recipe again and again and again....thanks so much for the awesome recipe. LOOOOVE IT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States