Smothered Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Wow! This was so yummy! My husband is always asking me to make it. I made it without the red wine and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaimie Agostino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This was my first venture with short ribs and it was incredible. The flavor is sooo good and it is perfect on top of mashed potatoes. The perfect Sunday night dinner when you don't have much to do. Though it takes a while, most of it is just sitting and trying to hold yourself back from attacking the pot when it really starts to simmer and the aroma fills the house. Try to buy boneless shortribs if you can - less fat to deal with later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This recipe was OK. The stock quantity definitely needs to be cut in half. It can also help to add some corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Great. I use same recipe with a roast. I sometimes strain the sauce to make it a little more refined and less "smothered".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Delicious! Everyone enjoyed this dish served over white rice. The ribs and its aromatic and flavorful sauce/gravy was the perfect compliment to the simplicity of the white rice. Like others, I thickened my gravy w/ a little cornstarch & beef broth (rather than water). Perhaps the best part was the aroma in the house as it simmered for all those hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DManfredi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
First time for Beef Short Ribs..this is a wonderful recipe. loved the flavor or the ribs. This is my new addiction. Thank you so much for such a great introduction to Short Ribs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
The best short ribs we have ever had! I did cut the stock down to 4c.,covered and baked in the oven till tender. I then just poured the sauce over some rice (this is the way my mother in law used to do it so my husband says) and served with the ribs- my family couldn't stop raving- thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Made just as directed and these are very good. I agree it would be best to make them ahead of time so the excess fat can easily be removed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
used 6 ribs, 1/2 cup flour, 3 carrots, 3 parsnips, creole season
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Enyeart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Years ago I made beef short ribs for the first and last time (I thought) – way too fatty and greasy. But recently we were at a friend’s house for dinner and she served short ribs. I silently cringed, but they were wonderful! So, I thought I needed to try again. I bought boneless short ribs, as she had used, and selected this recipe. Admittedly, I changed the process quite a bit, but still came out with a wonderfully rich tasting dish. I browned my ribs and removed them from the skillet. I skipped sautéing the carrots and celery and proceeded directly to sautéing the garlic for a minute and then deglazing with the red wine. I added the stock, browned short ribs, bay leaf and thyme and cooked uncovered over a low simmer for about 90 minutes. Because I thought my liquid was reducing too much, I covered my pan for another 30 minutes. I wanted my vegetables to be crisp tender and maintain their color, so I continued to cook covered, adding the carrots for another 40 minutes, the celery for the last 30 minutes and the onion for the last 20 minutes. The carrots and celery were perfect; 20 minutes for the onion was 5-10 minutes too long. I did thicken my sauce with just a bit of cornstarch and water. These were wonderful ribs in a deep, rich sauce with vegetables that hadn’t turned to mush. Served over rice and we enjoyed this very much!! Now, I’ll do short ribs again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States