Smothered Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
So, I made the recipe as written. My kids, however, hate anything that even has the look of vegetables. After reading the other reviews about the thickness/cooktime of this recipe, I decided to try something different. After cooking for about 3 1/2 hours, I removed the meat and took my immersion blender and beat everything together. This made a thicker "gravy" full of vegetables that my kids can't see. Then I returned the meat to the gravy. It is fabulous!!! I told them it is going to be a mashed potato bowl like KFC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Very good recipe. Only made slight alterations. Used half bone-in, half boneless short ribs, bone-in for flavor, boneless for more meat (the bone-in at my grocery store had virtually no meat). Used fresh thyme (5-6 six sprigs, about 3 tbsp) because I had it for another recipe. Used half of the amt of broth because that is all my pan would hold. After braising for 2 hours, put meat and broth separate in the fridge. Next day, defatted broth, pureed vegetables in broth, cut meat off the bone, into chunks. Heated both together and simmered for 30 minutes...with the pureed vegetables, I didn't need to thicken it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Fantastic. Use less thyme, more wine, more carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I simmered this for 5 hours and used 2 cups less of broth then what was called for. Served over mashed potatoes. Was scrumptious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This was my first try at short ribs, and they were TREMENDOUS! Only changes I will make in the future is low sodium broth, or no salt when I first prepare the ribs. The smell as I walked back into the house was wonderful. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather McIntire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I love, love, love these. I pretty much cook exactly as stated. It's a great dinner to start cooking in the crockpot in the morning before you leave for work and then come up to a great smelling house. Yummy, perfect. Add carrots, celery, potatoes. Whatever you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
While the meat was cooked perfectly, my family and I found the sauce very bland. My go to recipe for short ribs has always been Braised Hoisin Beer Short Ribs by Dave Lieberman. I think I am spoiled from that recipe. This wasn't for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I made this for my Sunday Dinner rather than grilling short ribs like I usually do. I must say I will definitely make this again! I follow the recipe to the teeth except I thicken my gravy with a little flour and water mix. I served them with black eye peas and yellow rice.My huband loved it. Will have the leftovers with mashed potatoes like the other reviewers. Try it I know you will love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Garvin-Owsley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Did not like this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALYSEWINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paris, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
The most delectable tasting recipe I have ever made or even tasted! Wish I could give it a hundred stars.... Yes... It's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Goff Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States