Smothered Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I just made this last night for my boyfriend and he raved about it all throughout dinner and afterwards. I'll probably use this recipe again but with some modifications. First, this takes a LOT of prep time with cutting up all of the veggies and garlic. Second, the sauce didn't really thicken in the time allotted in the recipe but I fixed that by using the mixture in making a gravy, which turned out phenomenal. I'd also probably use less beef stock next time as it was just way too much liquid. I'll also try adding some dry onion soup to the mixture next time as some people suggested for just a bit more kick to the flavor. I will say that the meat turned out super juicy and tender so I was very happy about that. All in all, I'd definitely try this recipe again and make it my own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I needed to make this recipe gluten free, so I browned the ribs without dredging them in flour. I then didn't have any wine, so I used 1/2 cup cranberry juice. I needed to leave the house and so needed to use the oven instead of the stovetop, so I reduced the beef stock to 2 1/2 cups and after browning the ribs and sauteing the vegetables and spices, I covered it and popped it into a low oven (325 degrees) for 2 1/2 hours - deducing the heat to 300 degrees after the first 45 minutes. Being that I reduced the stock, I also reduced the bay and garlic by half and reduced the thyme to about 1/2 teaspoon. The end result was delicious. I thought I would thicken the sauce with cornstarch (G. free) but there was no need. Next time I will add the carrots about an hour into the cooking time or when I reduce the oven temp. They were a little too soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
This was really good....I did change it a bit did not use the carrots or celery but added 2 cups of chopped peppers only 6 cups of stock and 11/2 sweet red wine.I also thicken it with corn starch after an hr. the taste was really there.I added brocolli as a side but mixed it into the sauce it tasted great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
So, I made the recipe as written. My kids, however, hate anything that even has the look of vegetables. After reading the other reviews about the thickness/cooktime of this recipe, I decided to try something different. After cooking for about 3 1/2 hours, I removed the meat and took my immersion blender and beat everything together. This made a thicker "gravy" full of vegetables that my kids can't see. Then I returned the meat to the gravy. It is fabulous!!! I told them it is going to be a mashed potato bowl like KFC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Very good recipe. Only made slight alterations. Used half bone-in, half boneless short ribs, bone-in for flavor, boneless for more meat (the bone-in at my grocery store had virtually no meat). Used fresh thyme (5-6 six sprigs, about 3 tbsp) because I had it for another recipe. Used half of the amt of broth because that is all my pan would hold. After braising for 2 hours, put meat and broth separate in the fridge. Next day, defatted broth, pureed vegetables in broth, cut meat off the bone, into chunks. Heated both together and simmered for 30 minutes...with the pureed vegetables, I didn't need to thicken it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Fantastic. Use less thyme, more wine, more carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I simmered this for 5 hours and used 2 cups less of broth then what was called for. Served over mashed potatoes. Was scrumptious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This was my first try at short ribs, and they were TREMENDOUS! Only changes I will make in the future is low sodium broth, or no salt when I first prepare the ribs. The smell as I walked back into the house was wonderful. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I love, love, love these. I pretty much cook exactly as stated. It's a great dinner to start cooking in the crockpot in the morning before you leave for work and then come up to a great smelling house. Yummy, perfect. Add carrots, celery, potatoes. Whatever you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
While the meat was cooked perfectly, my family and I found the sauce very bland. My go to recipe for short ribs has always been Braised Hoisin Beer Short Ribs by Dave Lieberman. I think I am spoiled from that recipe. This wasn't for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States