Smothered Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Midway through putting this together, I realized I didn't have any red wine, so I omitted it. Still was very very good. I also transferred to a slow cooker so it was ready when I got home today. I served with mashed potatoes, and a gravy made from the juices from the slow cooker. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Delicious! Didn't change anything in this recipe except I used garlic powder equaling this recipe's minced garlic. YUM! Thanks for sharing this mouth-watering creation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This was excellent , the reduction was wonderful, everyone was dipping their rolls in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I changed one thing: I used 5 cups of stock—4 beef, 1 chicken—and I simmered at med-low heat to reduce the liquid within the two hours allotted. Next time, I'll do two things differently: (1) I'll cut the beef stock with an even greater ratio of chicken stock to background the unfortunate bouillon-cube flavor that I can't not notice in even the higher quality store-bought beef stocks;* and (2) I'll use 6 cups of stock, but I'll leave 3.5 hours for simmering to allow for a low-heat braising, and thus even more tender beef. Still, I very much like this recipe. * One of these days, I start making my own stocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Trying this recipe now, as a base for some short ribs & other ingredients that I have. I've altered it somewhat using parsnips instead of celery, added red rice & mushrooms too. Instead of thyme & bay leaves, I've used sage & a bit of curry. I did NOT use any flour at all. And oh, I added another cup of red wine. We'll see how it goes because I'm an hour away from having it for the first time! (That's why I'm not rating it 5 stars yet.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Sure, it was fine, but there was way too much juice and veggie left over. It needed to be used, somehow. And directions to trim the meat would have been helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I tried this recipe,and my family loved it!!!! The short ribs were tender and flavorful! I used 6 cups of broth instead of 8. and used Masala cooking wine by mistake and it was fantastic. I will definitely use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Edsyms
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I made this Sunday on a cold day in February it was SO good and made us all fell cozzzzzy inside Also I added some caramelized onions over the top Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edsyms

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West New York, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Egypt, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
My husband gave me a foot massage and cleaned the kitchen after eating this! Needless to say I'll be making this one again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I just made this last night for my boyfriend and he raved about it all throughout dinner and afterwards. I'll probably use this recipe again but with some modifications. First, this takes a LOT of prep time with cutting up all of the veggies and garlic. Second, the sauce didn't really thicken in the time allotted in the recipe but I fixed that by using the mixture in making a gravy, which turned out phenomenal. I'd also probably use less beef stock next time as it was just way too much liquid. I'll also try adding some dry onion soup to the mixture next time as some people suggested for just a bit more kick to the flavor. I will say that the meat turned out super juicy and tender so I was very happy about that. All in all, I'd definitely try this recipe again and make it my own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States