Smothered Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
These are wonderful. I just made them for dinner and my husband couldn't stop eating it. He said that he would serve this in his restaraunt. (He doesn't actually have one, but he always talks about the restaraunt he would love to own and what would be on his imaginary menu). He kept asking me about the recipe and what was in it because he said there's something in it that he really like. He was sopping up drippings with crusty bread. The only things I changed were adding a splash of Worchstershire (sp?) to the veggies and I didn't have celery so I omitted that. This was a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELLENE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
For now I am going to give this a four star because it wasn't what I expected. Maybe I added too much wine, I used Cabernet sauvigon wine and it may be to powerful for this dish, because it the gravy tasted like beef burgandy. It wasn't bad once I accepted the taste. I really wanted something that was gonna be like roast beef so that I could eat it over rice. But I think I will pair this with egg noodles. But it wasnt bad, my suggestion would be to be careful with how much wine you use
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Organic Nut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Great recipe! I followed others' advice increasing the simmer time to 3 hours and reducing the amount of beef broth. Excellent over mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Mayo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakdale, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
After searing the ribs on all sides I transferred to the slow cooker and cooked all day per this recipe. The ribs fell off the bone but the flavor was not pleasing to us, thyme and beef just did not marry well for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Delicious and easy recipe. My family loved it and as the other reviews said, serving with mashed potatoes was great. The gravy does need to be thickened with a little cornstarch and water after meat is removed. You can reserve some of the liquid after cooking (but before thickening) and freeze it for future gravy base. It is very good. I would recommend cooking an extra hour as meat would be a little more tender. I would also put less thyme. Even decreasing by 1/3 of the thyme would be good. Make sure to trim fat before cooking as it makes it easier than trying to remove it after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANDY88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I loved this recipe! The house smelled wonderful, it tasted wonderful. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I used cranberry juice instead of the red wine, and since I didn't have fresh parsley, I added 2 tablespoons dried parsley 30 minutes before serving. Other then that, I followed the recipe exactly and it came out superb! It was a wonderful meal to prepare on a chilly autumn evening, and it smelled sooooo good while it simmered away! My husband raved on and on about it, and I completely agreed and took my bows! Certainly will be putting this recipe into rotation! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eve
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Good recipe. I did use less liquid and had to thicken the sauce with corn starch. My mom is a home EC.teacher so she taught me to improvise. I had no wine so I used cranberry juice.I minced all the veggies so my kids wouldn't complain but I could still get the good flavor. It was mouthwatering.I served with scalloped potatoes and it was yummy but the gravy on mashed potatoes has got to be the best. We had left over gravy so I froze it and threw some store bought meatballs in it to simmer for a few hours. My best meatballs EVER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
i loved this---but i love fatty recipes. (everyone else hated the amount of fat in the meat.)---it had great aroma and was very rich. used half the liquid and still ended up with a ton of gravy (which i am saving for a base next time i need beef gravy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States