Smothered Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Really tasty and the short ribs are tender and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
WOW this was the best meal don't pass this one up it takes time to braise but OH so worth it It does have alot of grease but if you make it a day ahead or drain the juice it is the best.I will be passing this along to anyone who listen it's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ren Causley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Made this for a lazy Sunday dinner tonight, and am so glad I did. It was wonderful. I used 2 lb. boneless short ribs (just cooking for two) and let them simmer for about 2.5 hours. Meat was so tender and the whole dish was incredibly flavorful. I used unsalted beef broth so I could control the salt to taste. Generously seasoned the meat prior to dredging in flour to ensure a nice crust on the meat when searing. This was a very simple dish to make, I'll rely on it going forward for comfort meals and even for company. I really didn't change anything other than to add some hot red pepper flakes in the olive oil when searing to give it a little heat, and also I didn't have any parsley so I left out that ingredient. Didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
With just a little tweaking this became a 5 star dish. I seasoned a mixture of short ribs and stew meat little heavier to suit our personal taste, browned the meat on the stove top and transfered to a crockpot. I also used just 3 cups of broth and thickened my gravy with one cup of a flour water slurry. Served it with rice, cabbage and insalada caprese. My family raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEEVA1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I, too, decided to put these in the crockpot, after getting everything ready on the stove. They cooked all day and the house smelled so good! I spooned out some of the broth (which did not thicken) and thickened it on the stove with a cornstarch and water mixture. I did not have canned beef broth, so used boullion cubes to make about five cups of broth. My husband really liked it and is glad we have leftovers for another night. I made mashed potatoes, biscuits and green beans to go with it. Will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Columbus, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
So good! Added more veggies before serving it up. Everyone LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I mistakenly bought boneless beef short ribs from Costco (meant to buy flap meat, and was distracted by an old friend). Instead of taking it back, I made this recipe on a damp, rainy day for my hubby who works outdoors. Well....let me tell you, the compliments went on and on!! Just like some of the other reviewers, my husband could not stop telling me how delicious this dish was. I served it on a bed of garlic yukon mash, with a layer of sauteed spinach and mushrooms, topped it off with the smothered beef, and a star was born!! Like previous reviewers suggested I reduced the amount of beef stock and I used fresh thyme because I happened to have some on hand. I also pureed some of the veggies so my kids wouldn't notice and it made the gravy even more tasty!! Thanks for a keeper of a recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
My family absolutely loved this recipe. I did make a few changes, I decreased the amount of stock and I since I didn't have beef stock, I used chicken. I had purchased a cut of beef I had never heard of, it was something like a country style boneless beef rib?? It was inexpensive so I assumed it was going to be a tough meat. We were all pleasantly surprised when the it came out very tender and moist. Also, I was making this on a busy Sunday, so I followed some of the other suggestions and put everything into the slow cooker (6 hrs on high). It turned out great. I liked the fact that it was not based a can of soup or an instant soup mix. (Not that I don't make those too.) It made a really nice sauce as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb Ruth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I have made this recipes twice and plan on making it many more times. The flavors are fantastic and the gravy it makes is wonderful. The meat becomes so tender. This recipe takes an inexpensive type of meat and turns it into a delicacy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
These are wonderful. I just made them for dinner and my husband couldn't stop eating it. He said that he would serve this in his restaraunt. (He doesn't actually have one, but he always talks about the restaraunt he would love to own and what would be on his imaginary menu). He kept asking me about the recipe and what was in it because he said there's something in it that he really like. He was sopping up drippings with crusty bread. The only things I changed were adding a splash of Worchstershire (sp?) to the veggies and I didn't have celery so I omitted that. This was a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELLENE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States