Smothered Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This was amazing.My husband & I loved it.The only things I change were no carrots(didn't have any) and I used a store brand container of beef broth,which didn't have a rich enough flavor to suit me.I added a packet of Swanson Beef Flavor Boost to the pot and that did the trick.I cooked them a little longer than called for,till meat was falling off the bones.I thickened the gravy with a little cornstarch & water,and served with mashed potatoes & vegetable.There was gravy left,so I froze it for another meal.Will be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kutztown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I made the recipe as it's stated except that after I browned the meat and cooked the carrots and onion a bit, I put everything in the slow cooker and let it cook on high for 5 hours. I added a few tablespoons of cornstarch near the end to thicken the gravy up a bit. The flavor of this was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
made this as a father's day dinner. easy to make had to substitute pink wine for red wine and added a few small hot peppers. still came out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shamrockbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Wonderful my family really loved it I followed the recipe but instead of using 4 lbs of ribs I used 6 since the recipe called for so much liquid. I also added 1 packet of onion soup mix for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GeorgiaPeach2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thomasville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Very good flavor, though I guess I didn't expect the vegetables to have completely disintegrated by the time it was done cooking, so the ribs didn't seem so much "smothered" as they were just in a whole lot of gravy. I cut down on the liquid even because it seemed like so much, cooked it an extra hour, and added a small bit of cornstarch with cold water, and it was a nice, thick gravy after the 3 hrs or so I cooked it down. Not sure about the reviewer who said this was way too much prep work for the result -- really didn't seem like any more work than your average home cooked comfort meal! Cooking from scratch takes love and time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
DEAR. LORD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Mmmm, this was so good, I added dried onion soup mix, my picky eater son said the flavors were so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This didn't come out well.... After doing the browning of the ribs & sauteeing the veggies, I threw everything in a crockpot. After putting in the 1 cup of wine, I could only fit in 4 cups of broth. I let it all cook on low for around 8 hours. Tried straining the broth out & making a sauce with it using a roux, on the stovetop in a small pan. We weren't thrilled with this, granted I did change it a little but who has 2 hours to sit around while dinner cooks & that is in addition to prep & clean up time. I wouldn't make this again, it was too much work for something mediocre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Well, I wish I would have read reviews before making this. My poor husband had to eat leftovers because this was not ready in time. I will follow the advise of others and put in crockpot for the day. We have not tried this yet. I stuck it in the fridge before bed time. I will try this recipe again however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommeefit
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Hubby says "KEEPER!" Tweaked it a little: 6 cups of liquid (4 cups of water with 3 beef bullion cubes, 1 can beef broth, 2 packets of Swanson Beef "Flavor Boost"), 1 envelope Lipton onion soup mix, no parsley. After 2 hours, removed beef and strained veggies from stock, reduced stock to half and added flour slurry (1/3 cup cold water and 3 Tbsp flour, shaken together) and added to boiling stock to thicken. Added veggies and beef back to pot and served over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States