Smothered Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This was amazing.My husband & I loved it.The only things I change were no carrots(didn't have any) and I used a store brand container of beef broth,which didn't have a rich enough flavor to suit me.I added a packet of Swanson Beef Flavor Boost to the pot and that did the trick.I cooked them a little longer than called for,till meat was falling off the bones.I thickened the gravy with a little cornstarch & water,and served with mashed potatoes & vegetable.There was gravy left,so I froze it for another meal.Will be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kutztown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I made the recipe as it's stated except that after I browned the meat and cooked the carrots and onion a bit, I put everything in the slow cooker and let it cook on high for 5 hours. I added a few tablespoons of cornstarch near the end to thicken the gravy up a bit. The flavor of this was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
made this as a father's day dinner. easy to make had to substitute pink wine for red wine and added a few small hot peppers. still came out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shamrockbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Wonderful my family really loved it I followed the recipe but instead of using 4 lbs of ribs I used 6 since the recipe called for so much liquid. I also added 1 packet of onion soup mix for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GeorgiaPeach2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thomasville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Very good flavor, though I guess I didn't expect the vegetables to have completely disintegrated by the time it was done cooking, so the ribs didn't seem so much "smothered" as they were just in a whole lot of gravy. I cut down on the liquid even because it seemed like so much, cooked it an extra hour, and added a small bit of cornstarch with cold water, and it was a nice, thick gravy after the 3 hrs or so I cooked it down. Not sure about the reviewer who said this was way too much prep work for the result -- really didn't seem like any more work than your average home cooked comfort meal! Cooking from scratch takes love and time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
DEAR. LORD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Mmmm, this was so good, I added dried onion soup mix, my picky eater son said the flavors were so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This didn't come out well.... After doing the browning of the ribs & sauteeing the veggies, I threw everything in a crockpot. After putting in the 1 cup of wine, I could only fit in 4 cups of broth. I let it all cook on low for around 8 hours. Tried straining the broth out & making a sauce with it using a roux, on the stovetop in a small pan. We weren't thrilled with this, granted I did change it a little but who has 2 hours to sit around while dinner cooks & that is in addition to prep & clean up time. I wouldn't make this again, it was too much work for something mediocre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Well, I wish I would have read reviews before making this. My poor husband had to eat leftovers because this was not ready in time. I will follow the advise of others and put in crockpot for the day. We have not tried this yet. I stuck it in the fridge before bed time. I will try this recipe again however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommeefit
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Hubby says "KEEPER!" Tweaked it a little: 6 cups of liquid (4 cups of water with 3 beef bullion cubes, 1 can beef broth, 2 packets of Swanson Beef "Flavor Boost"), 1 envelope Lipton onion soup mix, no parsley. After 2 hours, removed beef and strained veggies from stock, reduced stock to half and added flour slurry (1/3 cup cold water and 3 Tbsp flour, shaken together) and added to boiling stock to thicken. Added veggies and beef back to pot and served over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States