Smothered Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
My DH thought this was pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Very flavorful recipe for short ribs. Followed the recipe as given with only one change: used half of the beef broth (1 box/32 oz./4 cups). Simmered this covered and then uncovered the last 45 minutes or so. Sauce turned out great - didn't need to thicken it, although if you like a thick gravy you may want to do so. Served with mashed potatoes. If you are worried about too much fat, check your short ribs. The butcher hand trimmed mine, so they were OK. A grocery store might not do that, so you'll have to trim some (not all) of the fat. Perfect comfort food for a cool, fall day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MuscleMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
We thought this recipe was very good. It's wonderful comfort food on a cold dreary day. I left out the wine, added potatoes and more carrots for a complete meal, also ditched the bay leafs,,,that is not one of our favorite herbs. Be Creative!! Will do again. Karen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
This was very tasty. I would cook it longer next time as I prefer the meat to fall apart without a knife. Maybe an extra hour. Tasted great over egg noodles with garlic toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffer258

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I followed all instructions until it was time to simmer for 2 hours. Instead I poured everything into a slow cooker for 4 hours on low. This may be too much work for some, but I enjoy my slow cooker. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PickettFence

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Very good! Family loved them. Will make again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Since it was a rainy, gloomy, chilly, and downright nasty day, I decided to have some "comfort food." Short ribs are just that! I followed this recipe pretty closely, and I have to agree with some other reviewers that this did not have enough "zip" for me, and I even added spices due to the number of folks who said that! However, that was the only negative in this whole recipe; I used 1 cup red wine, and 1 qt beef stock, just enough to cover the short ribs. Covered the first hour, no lid the second, the ribs were done to perfection in EXACTLY two hours, a pleasant surprise. I thickened the broth with a roux that I had made earlier in the week, and kept in the fridge for just such a need. Served over mashed potatoes, this tasted rich and indulgent. I will strain the remaining broth, dilute, and add noodles for tomorrow's dinner. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This was excellent!! I accidently gave this review to the wrong recipe. Oops! Well this is the one. I made this lastnight for my family and they loved it!! This is so easy even if you are not a regular cook you can do this and wow whomever you are cooking it for. We felt like we were eating at a 5 star restaraunt lastnight. I used a semi-sweet semi-dry red wine in this to have a happy medium in the sweetness level. This was the first time ever for me trying to make short ribs and I am not sorry that I did!! MM MM....good! Hats off to the creator of this meal. To thicken the sauce at the end I used a bit of cornstarch instead of flour. Was worried that it would have that raw flour taste in the background. The cornstarch was perfect. Please do try this over buttery mashed potatoes it gives it that added heaven not to mention it makes it that much more filling. Don't pass this one up try it you will not be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
This has become my husbands favorite meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I didn't come out as expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Busy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States