Smothered Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This was very tasty, but a bit on the greasy side. Would trim off more fat next time. I didn't have celery, but used celery salt and added more onion. It worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Impressive!!! Wonderful.. Put this over couscous & added steamed veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Oh, wow, was this good! Until tonight I had never had beef short ribs and I'll tell you, good old fashioned home cooking just doesn't get any better than this. A superb blend of ingredients that created the perfect dish. But when I make this again, I'll do it a day in advance and simply reheat it the next day, especially if I make this for guests. All the prep and clean-up will have been taken care of. Also, nine cups of liquid takes a long time to reduce--much longer than 2 hours. Even at 2-1/2 hours I still had to thicken it up with a bit of cornstarch. Finally, no matter how lean the ribs are, there is still a lot of rendered fat. Making these the day before will allow me to refrigerate them overnight and then remove all the solidified fat. The extra work involved and the long cooking time, however, is SO worth the effort. The ribs are full of beefy flavor and fork tender. The gravy just can't be beat--intensely rich, brown and full-flavored. I served this over polenta and it brought me right back to Grandma's house in my childhood. Mom came for dinner and she happily took what little leftovers there were home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
My DH thought this was pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Very flavorful recipe for short ribs. Followed the recipe as given with only one change: used half of the beef broth (1 box/32 oz./4 cups). Simmered this covered and then uncovered the last 45 minutes or so. Sauce turned out great - didn't need to thicken it, although if you like a thick gravy you may want to do so. Served with mashed potatoes. If you are worried about too much fat, check your short ribs. The butcher hand trimmed mine, so they were OK. A grocery store might not do that, so you'll have to trim some (not all) of the fat. Perfect comfort food for a cool, fall day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MuscleMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
We thought this recipe was very good. It's wonderful comfort food on a cold dreary day. I left out the wine, added potatoes and more carrots for a complete meal, also ditched the bay leafs,,,that is not one of our favorite herbs. Be Creative!! Will do again. Karen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
This was very tasty. I would cook it longer next time as I prefer the meat to fall apart without a knife. Maybe an extra hour. Tasted great over egg noodles with garlic toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffer258

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I followed all instructions until it was time to simmer for 2 hours. Instead I poured everything into a slow cooker for 4 hours on low. This may be too much work for some, but I enjoy my slow cooker. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PickettFence

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Very good! Family loved them. Will make again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Since it was a rainy, gloomy, chilly, and downright nasty day, I decided to have some "comfort food." Short ribs are just that! I followed this recipe pretty closely, and I have to agree with some other reviewers that this did not have enough "zip" for me, and I even added spices due to the number of folks who said that! However, that was the only negative in this whole recipe; I used 1 cup red wine, and 1 qt beef stock, just enough to cover the short ribs. Covered the first hour, no lid the second, the ribs were done to perfection in EXACTLY two hours, a pleasant surprise. I thickened the broth with a roux that I had made earlier in the week, and kept in the fridge for just such a need. Served over mashed potatoes, this tasted rich and indulgent. I will strain the remaining broth, dilute, and add noodles for tomorrow's dinner. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States