Smothered Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Excellent recipe! I made this about a month ago and will be making it on a regular basis. Thank you for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kareng

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Very good recipe. My entire family loved it. My only change was that I didn't need to use as much liquid. I ended up using about 5-6 cups of stock, along with the wine. An added bonus: the house smells GREAT while it cooks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Lynbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Delicious! I did not have bay leaves so I had to make do without them and I also added a bit more garlic and some crushed red peppers. Perfect over garlic mashed potatoes! This is a great recipe when you are having over company...for the most part, it cooks itself while you are cleaning the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This beef was so tender, my children had no problems eating it. It was absolutely delicious, even stone cold! I didn't have red wine on hand, so I deglazed with extra broth. I cut the amount of broth down, as other reviewers suggested, then thickened it with cornstarch and served it as stew the next day. I refrigerated it overnight and then removed the solid fat from the surface.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Great flavor - The only thing I changed was adding more garlic then called for. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookMe2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This was ok. It just wasn't spectacular. I made it in a slow cooker, so I omitted one box of broth and there was still a ton of liquid. I served it over noodles. No other changes. Good, just not great and I will be looking for other short rib recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I can't believe that I had never eaten or cooked short ribs until a few weeks ago. I saw a recipe for short ribs Asian Style and we were blown away with it. I decided to try making traditional short ribs and chose this recipe. Again - another 5 star receipe. I served it over mashed potatoes. What a hit! Thank you submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This is great! I have passed this recipe out so many times. I have only made changes by accident! I have cut back a bit on the broth, the first time just because I didn't have enough. Just covering the meat works. I have put it in the oven in a roaster, covered for an hour, remove cover and cook about another hour to an hour and a half. I have gotten boneless beef short ribs from Costco and they just fall a part they get so tender. I have added quartered potatoes and they are so good. My 4 kids ask for this almost once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edina, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This was very tasty, but a bit on the greasy side. Would trim off more fat next time. I didn't have celery, but used celery salt and added more onion. It worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Impressive!!! Wonderful.. Put this over couscous & added steamed veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States