Smothered Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
These were good. There was definitely too much liquid in it, but I just thickened it up for the gravy. The main thing I didn't like was the amount of thyme. I think it was way too overpowering. 1 t. would have been enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I made this dish last evening - FANTASTIC! My husband (who is an excellent cook) commented on how good and tender it was. The wonderful aroma throughout the house made us all hungry on this stormy night. Only used 5-cups beef broth and used cornstarch instead of flour for thickening, then served with mashed potatoes. YUMMY! I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Excellent recipe! I made this about a month ago and will be making it on a regular basis. Thank you for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kareng

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Very good recipe. My entire family loved it. My only change was that I didn't need to use as much liquid. I ended up using about 5-6 cups of stock, along with the wine. An added bonus: the house smells GREAT while it cooks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Lynbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Delicious! I did not have bay leaves so I had to make do without them and I also added a bit more garlic and some crushed red peppers. Perfect over garlic mashed potatoes! This is a great recipe when you are having over company...for the most part, it cooks itself while you are cleaning the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This beef was so tender, my children had no problems eating it. It was absolutely delicious, even stone cold! I didn't have red wine on hand, so I deglazed with extra broth. I cut the amount of broth down, as other reviewers suggested, then thickened it with cornstarch and served it as stew the next day. I refrigerated it overnight and then removed the solid fat from the surface.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Great flavor - The only thing I changed was adding more garlic then called for. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookMe2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This was ok. It just wasn't spectacular. I made it in a slow cooker, so I omitted one box of broth and there was still a ton of liquid. I served it over noodles. No other changes. Good, just not great and I will be looking for other short rib recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I can't believe that I had never eaten or cooked short ribs until a few weeks ago. I saw a recipe for short ribs Asian Style and we were blown away with it. I decided to try making traditional short ribs and chose this recipe. Again - another 5 star receipe. I served it over mashed potatoes. What a hit! Thank you submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This is great! I have passed this recipe out so many times. I have only made changes by accident! I have cut back a bit on the broth, the first time just because I didn't have enough. Just covering the meat works. I have put it in the oven in a roaster, covered for an hour, remove cover and cook about another hour to an hour and a half. I have gotten boneless beef short ribs from Costco and they just fall a part they get so tender. I have added quartered potatoes and they are so good. My 4 kids ask for this almost once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edina, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States