Smothered Beef Liver Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I like liver, but this is the first time I've cooked it, and, the first time I've eaten it without gravy. Cooked as written. Very easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Delicious! I was amazed how yummy this was. I tweaked the recipe a bit. I used 2 onions, the liver was broiled (kosher style), so I tried to minimize the frying and simmering. As soon as it was fried. I added the onions and the sauce (10.5 oz) which had mushrooms in it (ground up)and heated everything through. Then I just simmered for about 2-3 mins. Served whith fresh french fries and ... Surprise!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
My wife and I liked the recipie. It was easy to make and different . Also I liked the tip about the membrane with liver you need to know how to prepare the meat itself most important, it takes some time but it's necessary. I did change a couple things because I cooked more liver, (more tomato sauce and a little more water) I would use a little less oregano next time. I also used bacon grease instead of oil for alittle more flavor and served the bacon on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
We love the traditional Liver and Onions buried in brown gravy, but I decided to try this recipe. DELICIOUS AND SO TENDER. I may make the traditional type of dish as a change, but this is definitely going to be my favorite way to prepare liver and onions. I did make a few changes due to using what I had on hand: Used can of tomato soup and 1/4 cup water (misread the recipe). I mince/freeze 2 onions to a quart bag, so I used a bag of minced onions. Didn't have oregano, but substituted Italian seasoning and added 1/2 tsp of garlic powder. I told my husband that we were having ITALIAN BEEF LIVER. He also loved the flavor and tenderness of the liver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galena Park, Texas, USA
Living In: Lott, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This was great. I have always been afraid to make liver though I do enjoy it in restaurants. I decided to give this a try. The liver came out great and on par with anything I would get out. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Good. Very moist, the 4 year old enjoyed this as well!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by felicia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I actually sprinkled mozzarella cheese over it also while it simmered gave it a whole differant flavor,Daughter LIKED,I Loved,wife said it was OK, son well sons just dont like liver LOL,A++ if you ask me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gootch24
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Excellent way to cook beef liver, I just made it for the first time this way and it is very tasty and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph Casper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Absolutly great! Served it to people that said they did not like beef liver and they loved it. Instead of tomato sauce I just used a jarred artichoke pesto spaghetti sauce and served over spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swampscott, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
will try again...maybe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States