Smothered Beef Liver Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
If you don't like beef liver, you probably have always had the moisture pan fried out of it and then topped with greasy onions. This method is the ONLY way to eat liver: dredged in flour, browned quickly, then braised low heat briefly in liquid. Try it with tomato soup if you don't have sauce, or season it like swiss steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
I made this recipe up after eating everyone else's dried out liver. This is a great way to make liver, but DON'T OVERCOOK. The recipe doesn't state to simmer with a cover on, but please do this so the sauce will not reduce very much. Also, keep the flame on low while simmering. Good luck and I hope you like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrisville, Vermont, USA
Living In: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2002
Good, but too much oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
I try to be liberal in my reviews of recipes that turn out badly, but this recipe simply has no redeeming qualities. And before you jump to conclusions, yes, I like liver. This recipe simply did nothing for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEKID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
Such great flavor and so very tender. My daughter and I enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
It sounded real good, but my husband likes it better without sauce. It was okay, but I guess I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oriskany, New York, USA
Living In: Cold Brook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
I have never bothered to rate recipes I use. But this one deserves my opinion. I and my family are use to the old time recipe of lots of onion and bury it in gravey. This was a great change and excellent taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
WOW!!! Delicicous and easy to make, love it...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Romana, La Romana, Dominican Republic
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I thought this was great. Unfortunately I don't get liver often, because noone in my household likes it...2 thumbs up..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
Well, great minds must think alike! My father always made liver this way when I was a child! I'm gonna give it a try tomorrow. I'm a big fan of liver and onion gravy, so this'll make a nice change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States