Smothered Beef Liver Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This is THE best liver recipe I have eaten. I'm really glad to have found this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Good beginners recipe, make sure to follow directions so it doesn't overcook. Only change is to add soaking the liver in milk for an hour, patting it dry, then dredging. This removes the bitter strong taste that tends to give liver it's sometimes bad name. Adding a little garlic powder to the flour is good too...never added tomato before so this was interesting and flavorful. I found myself out of sauce so I used tomato soup and the sweetness really paired nicely with the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kymbrown1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Nice change to standard liver and onions. Left out the flour, can't have, didn't miss it. I also did as another reviewer suggested and soaked the liver in milk first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
So, I did not have all the ingredients, I only had flour, seasonings, and oil. However, this recipe was a great foundation for me. I used 5 tablespoons of oil, used my favorite seasonings in replace of the onion, and oregano, and a few squirts of hot sauce and soy sauce in replace of the tomato sauce and water, I used medium to low heat to cook the liver, the mashed potatoes as a side, and I enjoyed the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I am one of the rare breed who loves liver--beef and chicken. I don't eat anything pork, so pork liver is not in the race; but I do like beef and chicken liver, and I like variety (it is, after all, the spice of life). I like this recipe; but as Patty Mae pointed out, the pan should be covered while simmering the sauce and liver together. Also, I used butter instead of vegetable oil for sauteing the onion. Olive oil is another good choice. I avoid vegetable oil because of the GMO factor; and butter or olive oil are much healthier, not to mention much tastier, alternatives to vegetable oil. Liver and other organ meats are consumed for their health benefits (Vitamin A, Vitamin B6, Vitamin B12, Folate, Riboflavin, Niacin, Iron, Copper, Omega-6, Phosphorus, Selenium, Manganese, and Zinc, in this case), so it makes sense to use a sauteing medium that is also healthy. Butter provides selenium, iodine, vitamin A, and other nutrients that vegetable oil does not. Butter is also a good source of good cholesterol and glycospingolipids, which help protect the stomach from gastrointestinal infections. Olive oil helps to put HDL and LDL cholesterol into a healthy balance, as well as being anti-inflammatory. Coconut oil is another good oil to use because of its anti-fungual properties. I also use organic tomatoes. So, substituting butter, olive oil, or coconut oil for the vegetable oil and using organic tomatoes make this already VERY healthy recipe even healthier and tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlSwilling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I'm giving this 5 stars even though I didn't love it. My 3 boys (each of whom are very picky at different meals) and my husband LOVED it. The kids asked for seconds and thirds. It was very tender and the flavour of the tomatoes and spices was nice, but I just don't really like the taste and texture of liver. I'll eat it for the kids, and when I do I'll be making it this way. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Di Giacomo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Made this for dinner tonight. I followed the recipe as written except I soaked my liver in lemon juice for a few hours to draw out the toxins and make the flavor milder. I used a whole quart of tomato sauce for a double recipe and added a little minced onion and garlic powder to the sauce as it was simmering. I served it over ziti noodles! Delicious! The best way I have eaten liver so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This is the only liver recipe everyone in my house will eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hudson, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This was really good, but for liver to be really tender and lose the strong flavor it needs to be marinated in plain or nonfat MILK for at least 15 or up to 60 minutes. This takes all the nasty strong flavor out, makes it fork tender and will be delicious any way you cook it. I used to hate the taste of liver, but once I discovered this secret, I can now eat it just seasoned with a little garlic salt & pepper & quickly pan fried in oil oil & butter (and put into a sandwich). Do this before any type of preparation and it will be DELISH!! As a side note; I have even left it sitting in milk overnite because after I started to prepare it I got a last minute invite to go out, and it was still wonderful the next day!! I just put plastic over the bowl & popped into the fridge... It was So tender & Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Excellent very easy to make. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJ65

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States