Smothered Bacon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
DEEELISH, WE WILL PUT THIS ON THE FAV. LIST. I ADDED FRESH MUSHROOMS TO PAN (NOT ON TOP OF CHICKEN)BEFORE ADDING SOUP MIXTURE. I ADDED MINCED GARLIC,SALT,PEPPER,AND GRATED PARMESAN CHEESE TO SOUP MIXTURE BEFORE COVERING CHICKEN. I ALSO SERVED IT ON EGG NOODLES. THE CHICKEN WAS SO TENDER AND MOIST WE DID NOT EVEN HAVE TO DIRTY A KNIFE. BAKED FOR 35MIN AT 350 THEN 400 FOR 15MIN AS OTHERS HAD SUGGESTED
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: La Porte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
This was very good and very simple to make. I used cream of mushroom with roasted garlic instead of the plain kind and I also used only half of the required sour cream (we're not a big fan of it). Also, instead of using the bacon pieces as a wrap, I cooked them in a pan with some sliced mushrooms while the chicken was baking and then put the crumbled bacon pieces and mushrooms on top of the chicken along with shredded parmesan cheese about 10-15 minutes before the chicken was done and then finished cooking. Served over white rice. Very delicious. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This had really good flavor, but I just couldn't get over the bites of bacon that were really limp, for lack of a better word. I precooked the bacon for a minute in the microwave, then wrapped around the chicken. The texture of uncrisped bacon is really unappealing to me. I loved the flavors and how moist the chicken was though. I put sliced mushrooms on the bottom of the dish, then the chicken, then covered in the sauce. Served over egg noodles. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This was a very good basic recipe that I think can be altered to a lot of different tastes. I made a few changes: one was to pre-cook the bacon, added a dash of Worchestershire sauce and then some Cheddar cheese the last 5 min of baking. I also put a layer of frozen peppers/onions under the chicken and used 4 chicken breasts instead of 2. The chicken was so tender! You could easily make this with chicken gravy instead of the soup/sour cream or you could use the original recipe and add some chili powder and top with salsa for Mexican flavor. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinsdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2001
I enjoyed this recipe. I did rub brown sugar and pepper the bacon, as the other reviewer suggested, and it made all the difference. The only thing I would do differently, is maybe fry the bacon until most of the fat is rendered, but not before it becomes crisp (let it cool, then rub brown sugar and pepper it). I would also broil the chicken at the end for a few minutes so the bacon taste would come out more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
this was very good and my vey picky boyfriend loved it! i made a few changes though. i flattened the chicken breast and rolled the precooked bacon inside the chicken. then to the cream of mushroom soup mixture i added about 3 tablespoons of dry ranch dressing mix. very good, one of very few recipes ive made that ended with NO leftvers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mistycolleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New London, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
this is a very delicious meal! my family loved it so much! i did put brown sugar and pepper on the bacon before wrapping it on the chicken. Also, i only put 2/3 cups of sour cream and after the 40 min, 350 degrees cooking i did baked it at 400 degrees for 10 more mins as suggested in the reviews... it turned out really good! if you prefer a cripy bacon, i suggest you put the bacon-wrapped chicken, without the sauce,in the microwave for 2.5 minutes or more, depending on how crispy you want it and they serve it with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
This was great, and so easy too! I changed it up a little bit though. I used half a can of milk instead of the sour cream. I used chicken tenderloins that were seasoned with pepper, seasoned salt, and garlic powder; then topped with a slice of provolone cheese and wrapped with pre-cooked bacon. While it took a while for the chicken to bake, it gave you plenty of time to fix the rest of the meal. I love those 'bake 'em and walk away' recipes like this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian N.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
My family LOVED this. I made it for 8 and changed it up a little bit. I used one large can of cream of mushroom soup and two 10.75 cans of cream of mushroom with garlic. We are a family who loves our garlic. This came out wonderful! Not too much garlic and not too little. I also bought 2 lbs thick bacon from the meat market and fried that up. Instead of wrapping the chicken I crumbled the bacon in with the soup mixture. I served this over mashed yukon gold and red potatoes. It was wonderful!!! Will make this many more times!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ImACornFlakeGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Essexville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lebanon Junction, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2000
This recipe was delicious. I made honey peppered bacon by rubbing brown sugar and course ground pepper over the bacon slices before wrapping them around the chicken. The sauce on the chicken is absolutely delicious. This is definetly a keeps in my recipe box!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Bacon Jack Chicken Sandwich

Quick-and-easy chicken sandwiches star Jack cheese and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States