Smothered Bacon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2000
It was average tasting (not a gourmet recipe!) Ont the positive side, it was very very easy and required just a few ingredients... always a plus for small families. And it's fairly low fat, which is a good thing. You may want to add a sprinkle of ground pepper for an added kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2000
This recipe was delicious. I made honey peppered bacon by rubbing brown sugar and course ground pepper over the bacon slices before wrapping them around the chicken. The sauce on the chicken is absolutely delicious. This is definetly a keeps in my recipe box!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2001
I enjoyed this recipe. I did rub brown sugar and pepper the bacon, as the other reviewer suggested, and it made all the difference. The only thing I would do differently, is maybe fry the bacon until most of the fat is rendered, but not before it becomes crisp (let it cool, then rub brown sugar and pepper it). I would also broil the chicken at the end for a few minutes so the bacon taste would come out more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2001
Super easy and good. I used reduced fat soup - turkey bacon and low fat sour cream. Excellent. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
The sour cream in this recipe proved to be too dominant a taste. The bacon did not get crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
This was a very easy recipe. I prepared the chicken in a glass dish and refrigerated it a few hours before my family came home, just to save time. I ended up leaving the chicken in the oven for an hour and 10 minutes instead of 50 and the bacon turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty O'Brien

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
Although tender, the taste in the sauce was terrible. Tasted like straight mayonaise, despite the garlic powder and Worcestshire that I added. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
This was very good. I cut each half breast in half and found it allowed the flavor to get through the chicken. I served it with white rice and the whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
I made this for my husband and very picky teen daughter and they loved it! My daughter even requested that I make this for her special birthday dinner in 6 weeks. The flavors combined beautifully, although I did up the temp to 400 for the last 10 minutes to crisp the bacon a tad. This one is definitely a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Oh my goodness, I can not express how good this was and easy! 4 total ingredients! It was very flavorful and juicy. I just seasoned it with a little salt (remember the bacon will add some salt flavor also so be careful, fresh ground pepper, and a little bit of thyme leaves. I served it with some wild rice, green beans, and biscuits. Excellent dish will make again and again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Bacon Jack Chicken Sandwich

Quick-and-easy chicken sandwiches star Jack cheese and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States