Smothered Bacon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Have made this twice once as written which was good but 2nd time is was wonderful. I Used 'tropicanna' suggestions. Like how bacon was fully cooked & crunched, also sauted mushrooms in some of bacon grease till brown, it was awesome. We will be making this many more times in future! Thanks for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
this is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Made this for a second time and i love it! Great bacon flavor and the sauce was great over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Finally an answer to my leftover sour cream! This is super tasty! I did change a few things though. I cooked the bacon in a skillet and crumbled it on top instead of wrapping the chicken in it. I also sauteed some mushrooms and spinach in the bacon drippings and put that on top of some rice and then put the chicken on top of that and poured sauce over the whole thing. Oh, and I added some minced garlic to the sauce before cooking. Yum Yum Yum. Super, super easy. I am not a great cook and even I can do it ;) Hubby and 3 year old son loved it, too. Would do 5 stars, but I think the original recipe might be a little bland and I imagine the bacon would be chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Bacon was rubbery and sauce lacked flavor. Wont make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
this was very good! I didn't have any cream of mushroom, so I mixed shredded cheese and salsa into the sour cream and spread that over the chicken.... and yum-o!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VFRAZIER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacna, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Me and my husband made this tonight, and with him being a professional chef, we can never make any recipe without adding our own touches, and this time was no different. WWe took two large chicken breasts and sliced two pockets in the side of each one, and stuffed them with fresh Mozzarella, asparagus tips, and sweet julienned red pepper. We then wrapped them with the bacon and secured them with two wooden toothpicks per breast, and placed them in a pre-greased (with Pam) Pyrex dish. (You can use cooking twine, as well if you choose.) I then mixed the soup and sour cream mixture as directed in the recipe, adding granulated onion, garlic, pepper, and thickly sliced Avina mushrooms before we spread it over the stuffed breasts. (Tip: Tillamook sour cream lends itself to create a thicker and more luxurious sauce than standard sour cream!) I squeezed a tablespoon or so of lemon juice over the top and popped that sucker in the oven! About ten minutes before it was due out of the oven, I took it out and topped it with shredded cheddar, chopped green onions, and diced fresh tomatos. SO GOOD. This recipe is a fantastic base and can be tweaked various ways to make very different and tasty versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Teller's Wife

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I made this recipe yesterday because it sounded good and looked easy.Right on both counts! It was delicious.Didn't change a thing.Thank you Abby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarksville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
This is yummy! My variations were: 1-pounded the chicken breasts till thinner & tender, drizzled with olive oil & lightly salt & pepper; covered in fridge 2 hours. 2- used pre-cooked bacon, 3- used a 6oz plain Greek yogurt in place of sour cream 4- used cream of mushroom garlic soup. 5- added a thin layer of the soup mixture to pan before adding chicken to prevent sticking. Hubby requested this recipe to be part of our dinner rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LNREED

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Bacon is just so hard to bake. This was a good recipe but we ended up cutting off half the bacon because it wasn't crisp. I think next time I will try proscuitto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Bacon Jack Chicken Sandwich

Quick-and-easy chicken sandwiches star Jack cheese and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States