Smothered Bacon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This came as a recipe of the day, and I emailed it to hubby, who made it and loved it for being so easy. We found we loved the sauce so much we wanted to make it with increasing the sauce ingredients, but then the bacon doesn't cook quite as well. If you precook the bacon the flavour's not the same. So I say the original recipe is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darmstro67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Elora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
OMG! This recipe freakin' RULES! Made it last night and my husband (a chef by occupation) raved about it all night (doesn't happen with my cooking often). Cooked the bacon for just a few minutes in a skillet and rubbed the bacon w/ brown sugar and pepper as other reviewers suggested. Served over egg noodles. DYNAMITE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Not a good recipe but a good concept. The recipe as itself is lacking...but by following the suggestions of others it made a great dinner. I added parmesan cheese, minced garlic, onion powder to the sour cream and soup mixture. Also added sauteed mushrooms to the top of the chicken before covering with soup mixture. It was good but still lacking something...next time I think I will add a slice of swiss cheese wrapped around chicken before wrapping the bacon and see if that makes it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennRT929

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
My family loved this and it was quick and easy. I cooked the bacon in a enameled cast iron pot, then turned off the heat drained the grease and added the chicken. There was just enough heat left to bown the chicken a little. I put the cooked bacon on top and covered with the sauce. I used cream of chicken, since my family likes that better and added some finely chopped onions and garlic. I cooked it the 35min @ 350 and 15min. @ 400. The last 5 minutes I sprincled a little parmasan on top. Turned out very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Very tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This recipe is yummy. I don't usually have alot of time so this fits my schedule perfect. I doubled it fine. I even subsituted some ranch dressing for sour cream. I used chicken tenders by wrapping two together at a time. Get ready for a filling, hearty meal that everyone will love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZooKeeper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
We don't eat alot of chicken in our house.We have Longhorns that we eat so chicken is rare...We loved this recipie its so easy and so declious..I add french fried onions on top of mine to make it extra speical..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Ok i made this last night wanted to try something different, i followed the directions and it was not that bad i thought it was good Hubby said it was ok, this is what i would different if i make and i will make again i would stuff the chicken with stuffing then wrap with bacon and then pour over the sauce and when i take out of the oven i sprinkle with grated cheese and just to add color to the sauce i would add chopped onions bell peppers if i don't add the stuffing and chopped potatos. Over than that i give a 4. Very good and delicous on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ...Rose...

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
It definitely was a good idea to cook the bacon ahead of time before putting the dish into the oven. But overall a very flavorful, yummy dish that I will definitely cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This was delicious! I will definitely make this again! i think it would also be good with pork chops and/ or turkey bacon. Cream of chicken would be good as well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Bacon Jack Chicken Sandwich

Quick-and-easy chicken sandwiches star Jack cheese and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States