S'mores Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Terisha
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This is the second time I've made these and everyone loves them! I make them for my kids school Halloween parties and I feel so proud when all of the other moms can't believe that I actually made them myself. I make them with smarties and oreo cookies as well as the s'mores and they look just like I bought them from The Rocky Mountain Chocolate Company. I read many of the other reviews and the tips really helped! Try and buy your apples without wax but if you can't just wash them well in warm water and make sure to dry them well. Also when picking your apples balance them in your hand to try and find the most level bottoms so that they sit nicely. I can't say that this is the only way but I chilled them in the fridge like other members advised and that worked well for me. You'll find that rolling them slowely after dipping them will help the caramel set before rolling in the toppings or placing the smarties on. I had a baking sheet with parchment paper in the freezer where I put my apples for 5 min to help set and then tranfered them to the fridge. I know time consuming but worth it for all of the compliments you'll receive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Made these for Halloween. Turned out great. I made a couple of changes however. I took the graham crackers and crushed them to a fine consistancy and rolled the caramel apples in that. Then I drizzled bakers chocolate and marshmallow cream over them. Looked fine and tasted great. A little messy, but will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHI_C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mcloud, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
OMG! If you love S'mores and you love Caramel apples then you're in for one heck of a treat! Not only are they pretty to look at but absolutely delicious. I highly recommend putting the apples in boiling water for a few seconds to remove the wax then letting them chill before dipping them into the caramel. This way everything sticks a lot better. This was very easy to do and the results were nothing less than perfect! Nothin' but smiles over Halloween for this little recipe and a lot of request for it next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Great! My first time trying a s'mores candy apple. I opted to dip the whole caramel apple in milk chocolate and then put the grahm crackers and marshmallows on. I prefer the more rich, milk chocolate taste because it is my favorite part of a s'more! I used a honey crisp apple. I would make them again and highly recommend them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Huge hit with my friends. Just don't burn the caramel...make sure to use room temperature apples and let the caramel cool a little on the apples before you roll them in the toppings. I put mine in the fridge too to chill them. Messy, but great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindsayT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I made this for the Halloween party this year and everyone loved them. They thought they were beautiful too. I used a caramel wrap which when brought out of the oven, was not sticky enough to roll ingredients in, so I had to strategically place every marshmallow and cracker. It took forever! I also did not drizzle on the chocolate. I placed each chip on the apple. I also added a worm I made with some candy, I placed in a hole I poked in the apple, for a spooky-gross effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hummingbird

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
These were soo yummy. They were quite messy and hard to eat though. I cut the apples into wedges just before serving so that they were easier to eat. Well worth the trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
This is sooo my kind of caramel apple. If I'm going to go to all the trouble, I want it to be decadent. A real holiday treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mumsy'sCouchPotato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
WOW, what a great combination of flavors. A little messy but oh so good. We will definately make these with the kids for Halloween!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I made these for my 4 year old son's class when they studied apples for the week. I begged my sister for help and honestly, we had so much fun with this. It was so simple to follow and they turned out great. His teacher couldn't believe I had done them myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blessedmomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States