S'mores Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2006
I also pre-baked the graham cracker crust for 5 minutes first. Also, I place all the graham crackers as a bottom layer, then a layer of chocoloate, and finally the marshmellows. I would suggest pressing down the bottom layer with parchment or wax paper. That seemed to help the "crumble factor"! Update May 2010. I now bake the layers in phases. First the the graham cracker crust (which I added a little bit of brown sugar and half the white sugar). Then I add a layer of chocolate chips, but I use the mini chips. 10 minutes in the oven. When it comes out I spread the melted chocolate with a spatula. Then I add the marshmellows and bake for 6-8 minutes. Only until light brown. After it cools, I put the whole pan in the freezer. After it is frozen, let it sit for 10 minutes, cut when still slightly frozen. Then I put the cut pieces back in a pan/container and back in the freezer they go. When I want to serve them, I take out what I need. Although my family has been known to eat them frozen. They do NOT last. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carley
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Mmmmm....can't keep out of these! They were great! However, only eat them warm if you want to use a spoon. (they are still delish though) Once cooled they cut nicely in to squares. Still gooey, but hey, they're smores, right!? Anyway, followed the recipe exactly, ground the graham crackers not to finely. Next time I think I will do them finer, like a true graham cracker crust. As to there not being enough for the top, I suppose it's a matter of opinion. The amount I had left, made more of a crumble top, which I liked, it looked lovely. So, if you want a true crust top, use more crackers! Also, per other reviewers suggestions, I baked the bottom crust for 5 min. before adding choc. chips & marshmallows. Almost forgot, I also used 1/2 semi & 1/2 milk chocolate chips. Great & easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Hooper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
These were pretty good. The only thing i did differently was instead of baking it all at once, i baked it layer by layer. I started with the graham cracker crust(about 10min), then sprinkled the choc. chips (about 6min) once they were melted i spread the chips with a spatula. then i sprinkled the mini marshmallows on top&put it back in the oven till they were slightly brown&lastly i sprinkled some remainder graham cracker crust&let bake for another 5 min. turned out really yummy!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyyyyy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
You've got to try this is all I can say! My family absolutely loved this and my hard to impress husband kept going back for more. I halfed recipe and made in 8X8 pan. The only change I made was to add about 1/4 cup more graham crackers as the butter sopped up the crumbs and it was more mushy, than crumbly. The crust really makes it, so the suggestions to make extra are right. The extra made just enough to cover top. Per a suggestion, I baked crust for five minutes before adding marshmallows and choc. chips. We ate them both warm and cold, and they are equally good. However, you won't be able to cut them when warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
These are so Yummy! I used real butter and all I had on hand were hersheys chocolate bars. So I broke up 6 bars to equal 2 cups. I will be making these again and I will continue to use the chocolate bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
This is an incredibly easy and yummy dessert! I make my graham cracker crumbs in a food processor. Two packs of a box of graham crackers equals 3 cups of crumbs. My 4-year old had a great time adding the chocolate chips and marshmallows and also enjoying the finished dessert! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSECKELS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
My co-workers often request that I make this for our monthly food-day. I find that if I make it the night before, and refrigerate it, they are not messy to eat, and cut easily into bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
I wasn't sure if the 1c. butter was right- the "crust" was pretty soft. I think next time I will try just 1/2c. Don't get me wrong, we LOVED it! A soft crust gets the chocolaty-marshmellowy goodness to your mouth just as well as a firm one, and our mouths were so full, we weren't really complaining. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
we had marshmellows, graham crackers and chocolate candy bars left over from a rained-out campfire. I placed the grahams in the bottom of a 9x9inch pan then marshmellows on top of that then candy bars broken up and topped with graham crackers. Placed into a pre-heated 350* oven for 12-15 minutes. yummy!! messy, but yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
When I made this, they smelled so delicious we got impatient and ate them while still warm. They were awful; just greasy, buttery, goo. I was going to pitch the entire pan, but luckily forgot to before bed. The next morning my toddler who wouldn't touch it the night before got into it and loved it. So I tried it again and it was fabulous!! Once completely cooled they were fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravenswood, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Moundsville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States