S'mores Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Carley
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Mmmmm....can't keep out of these! They were great! However, only eat them warm if you want to use a spoon. (they are still delish though) Once cooled they cut nicely in to squares. Still gooey, but hey, they're smores, right!? Anyway, followed the recipe exactly, ground the graham crackers not to finely. Next time I think I will do them finer, like a true graham cracker crust. As to there not being enough for the top, I suppose it's a matter of opinion. The amount I had left, made more of a crumble top, which I liked, it looked lovely. So, if you want a true crust top, use more crackers! Also, per other reviewers suggestions, I baked the bottom crust for 5 min. before adding choc. chips & marshmallows. Almost forgot, I also used 1/2 semi & 1/2 milk chocolate chips. Great & easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Hooper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I made this because it's child-friendly; however, even though it tastes good, it's very messy to eat. I cooked the base for an additional 5 minutes, but it was much too crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
i was so excited to make this, i had been craving s'mores for months. didn't think my landlord would appreciate a fire in the backyard, so this was a recipe to try. it is good if you like really, and i mean SUPER sweet deserts. i didn't put any sugar in the graham crackers, because i was afraid it would be too sweet and it was still too much for me. i did however, buy milk choc chips by accident, so that might be why. good thing is, i drank a week's worth of milk with one serving! it is pretty sloppy too, best to eat with plate/fork. might make again, probably for sugar-greedy kids! thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
we had marshmellows, graham crackers and chocolate candy bars left over from a rained-out campfire. I placed the grahams in the bottom of a 9x9inch pan then marshmellows on top of that then candy bars broken up and topped with graham crackers. Placed into a pre-heated 350* oven for 12-15 minutes. yummy!! messy, but yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
Grandkids loved these thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
Ok...the only thing I can say is delicious. I did make some more of the graham cracker mixture (per the advice of other reviewers). Instead of the semi-sweet, I used milk and white chocolate (sorta a half and half mixture). Made this for a supper at my parent and the adults and kids ate them up quickly...no leftovers. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I took this to a picnic and got great reviews. Everyone was asking for the recipe. I found my easy dish to take to all our get togethers. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
What can I say...I have made it twice in the last week by request. The kids love it. I even had the "Picky" eater ask to give the recipe for his mom. The only change I make is to make more of the Graham Cracker mix...It seems like when I get to the top there is not enough to cover the entire top, so I just add another cup of graham cracker crumbs/butter. This is really a nice kiddy dessert recipe. Great for sleepovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
I also pre-baked the graham cracker crust for 5 minutes first. Also, I place all the graham crackers as a bottom layer, then a layer of chocoloate, and finally the marshmellows. I would suggest pressing down the bottom layer with parchment or wax paper. That seemed to help the "crumble factor"! Update May 2010. I now bake the layers in phases. First the the graham cracker crust (which I added a little bit of brown sugar and half the white sugar). Then I add a layer of chocolate chips, but I use the mini chips. 10 minutes in the oven. When it comes out I spread the melted chocolate with a spatula. Then I add the marshmellows and bake for 6-8 minutes. Only until light brown. After it cools, I put the whole pan in the freezer. After it is frozen, let it sit for 10 minutes, cut when still slightly frozen. Then I put the cut pieces back in a pan/container and back in the freezer they go. When I want to serve them, I take out what I need. Although my family has been known to eat them frozen. They do NOT last. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
3.5 actually. They weren't amazing, but still became quickly addicting. Good both warm and cold. We cooked the bottom graham cracker layer for 5 minutes before continuing with the recipe in order to minimize crumbling. Worked out ok. Make sure to grease the pan. Milk chocolate chips might taste better as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Jelly Bean Nests

Amazing little “nests” made with chow mein noodles and melted marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States