S'mores Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This is a great recipe -- it's fool proof, quick and easy; a great recipe for anyone who struggles with baking (like myself). I have made this several times and it is always a hit with whoever tries it. Anyways, I wanted to post that I recently tried substituting 1/2 of the butter with mashed Avocado and it worked out great (I put 1/2 cup melted butter and 1/2 cup avocado). My only suggestions if you try this are to 1) mash the avocado very well before adding and 2) mix it into the crumbs with your hands instead of a spoon. Since it will be more of a paste, you need to work it into the mixture and it is much easier without the spoon. Having made this both ways, I personally didn't notice a taste or colour difference with the avocado and neither did my guests. If you are looking for a butter alternative, why not give this a try? It made me feel a lot better for eating as much of it as I did ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Changed the number of servings to 18 and used an 8x8 glass baking dish. These were delicious. The kids loved them and I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Love these just as written! Simple, quick, and a hit with both kids and adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Awesome!! I followed the advice of other reviewers adding more crust and baking in stages. Very messy (eat with a plate and fork). Next time I am going to serve it slightly warm with Rocky Road ice cream. YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Two stars because it was edible. The graham cracker part came out really hard and crumbly. The marshmallow part was also hard and stuck to my teeth. I wont be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Made these for a family party/weiner roast, and they were a hit! Not a crumb left! Thanks for an easy and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colona, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbon Cliff, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
These were very easy to make and delicious! I didn't have any graham crackers so I used crushed pretzel. It was DELICIOUS! A fantastic salty and sweet treat. I followed suggestions of other reviewers and baked the crust first (5mins) then melted chocolate chips on top (5 mins) spread the chocolate chips with a spatula and then covered with marshmallows and back in the oven again until mallows were browned. These were devoured instantly. Excellent, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
My son and I absolutely love these. During the holidays we substitute some of the marshmallows with the various holiday peeps or flavored marshmallows. They are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
we had a backyard campout last night only we had no fire, so for the full camping experience we had to modify the s'mores, and that's where this recipe came in! it was incredibly easy to make. i baked the crust 5 mins before adding the toppings and baking the last 5 minutes. my kids LOVED it. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Great recipe! I made this for a cookout and everyone went crazy over them1 I had 5 people ask me for the recipe. I followed some recommondations in other reviews: I baked the crust for 5 minutes, added the chocolate and marshmallows (I used large and cut them in half) and baked for 5 minutes and then I topped with remaining crumbs and baked for 5 more minutes. I also lined the pan with tin foil so after baking, I put the whole pan in the fridge for an hour then lifted out the foil and sliced into triangles. They lifted easily and cut perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAM29922

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Confetti Fudge Bites

See how to make fun, festive confetti bites!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States