Smooth and Cheesy Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This is the perfect healthy omelet! I modified it to my taste: using only egg whites (8 egg whites), added finely chopped chives to the saute, and minimized the oil to 1 tsp instead of 1 tablespoon, because you really don't need that much oil to saute. The cottage cheese is what makes it different and satisfying. I used 1% fat cottage cheese, using 1/3 cup instead of 1/4 cup. I served this with a side of freshly chopped tomatoes. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
WOW! I thought it sounded good, but I was not expecting this to be so delectable. I'm not much of a jalapeno girl, so I used green pepper. Also, all I had were canned mushrooms. This was just fantastic, I'll be making this often!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Cottage cheese on an omelet? Brilliant! Thanks for the great idea and recipe, I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I'm not a cottage cheese fan, but I used it for a recipe and had some left over. I found this recipe and was skepital, but I loved it. I used canned mushrooms, but I'll use fresh next time. The jalepenos gave it a nice kick. Thanks alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This omelet is wonderful! Didn't expect it to be this good. I did not have any mushrooms so used black sliced black olives and diced green chiles. Also some salsa. I put a slice of yellow cheese ontop and let it melt, then used sour cream when fully cooked, A 10!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Delicious and healthy! I'm always looking for more ways to use cottage cheese and this was a great idea. I did not find the olive oil to be necessary and used just a tad. I used fresh mushrooms and added red onion and green peppers. Loved the simple addition of basil, and I imagine this would have been even better if using fresh basil. I was worried about it not having enough seasoning and made the mistake of adding salt to the veggies. I forgot how salty cottage cheese is on its own. I contemplated adding garlic because I love it, but didn't. Overall, I thought the veggies, jalapeno, basil, and black pepper gave this enough taste. I also used egg beaters which worked just fine. Thanks for the great recipe to start my day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Blue Bell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Really yummy I love cottage cheese and it was great to find a good recipe to add it too, I did add fresh diced tomatoes and it added just that amount of sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxy Sparkles
Home Town: Petersburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This was interesting. I took another reviewers advice and whipped the cottage cheese in with the eggs. I used one full egg and three egg whites and trim cottage cheese. I think I might add in some onion and garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Not bad. I had to make quite a few changes, though. I omitted the mushrooms and cottage cheese, as I don't care for either. I added peri-peri peppadrop peppers and diced green onion, and used feta cheese. It tasted divine, even though it wasn't aesthetically pleasing (I need to work on my omelet making skills). Thanks, Dakota.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
The recipe was easy enoough, but I found the cool and lumpy cottage cheese inside the hot omelet disconcerting. I think mixing the cottage cheese in with the beaten egg might have imporved things. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Omelet Squares

Savory squares of baked eggs, mushrooms, olives, ham, jalapenos, and cheese.

Simple Italian Omelet

A couple simple techniques are all you need to make perfect omelets.

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States