Smooth Sweet Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
A lovely recipe. I used 1 cup of sugar (If you've ever had the "Tradewinds" brand of iced tea, then you'll know what I mean when I say I prefer "super sweet" to simply "sweet". The baking soda worked its magic even better than I thought it would. I also substituted ice for some of the cold water which speeded up the cooling process. This will make you feel like you're sitting on your wrap around porch in a white rocking chair, even if you live in the city without so much as a patio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
I made this tea for a southern-style dinner with fried chicken and mashed potatos, and love taking it to the park in water bottles on hot days. I used only 4 earl grey teabags, as these seem to be very pungent, as it were. I was very happy with the recipe, and served it with a slice of lemon on the glass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marian
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Super easy, tastes great. Only change is that I increased sugar to 1 cup as per previous reviewer. If you are looking for sweet tea from the South, this is not as sweet, but still is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly, and thought this tea was terrific! Perfectly sweet and delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
My husband is from South Carolina and this tea passed the ultimate test! We loved it, it was easy, just added a slice of Orange with a straw and we were set! Can't wait to make it for my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Being a born and bread southerner, I have made sweet tea me entire life. When I ran across this recipe, it was the first time I had ever seen it made with baking soda. I tried it and loved it! I'm not sure what the exact purpose of the soda is, but it seems to take the slight bitter edge off of the tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
I liked this recipe very much, the first batch I used peach flavored tea and followed the suggestions and added the extra 1/4 of a cup (way to sweet, even for me and i have a sweet tooth, I made it with earl grey which is lovely but I like the peach tea, will follow the recipe exactly next time, but a real keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
We live in the Chicagoland area and on a our trip to North Carolina to visit family last year my husband and I were in love with sweet tea. I was so excited to find this recipe. He has me making it (double batches) a couple times a week.:) We originally found the recipe for our annual 3rd of July party where we do pulled pork and coleslaw. It was the perfect drink to serve with the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fithian, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint John, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
This tea is great! My husband is from Virginia and loves sweet tea, and he is giving this rave reviews. I like that it tastes like tea (it isn't just syrupy tasting) but is never bitter, even after a few days in the fridge. If you like mint iced tea, just put several fresh-picked mint leaves in to steep with the tea bags. It is so refreshing on a hot day! I know others increased the sugar to one cup, but the recipe is really perfect as written; sometimes I even use a tiny bit less sugar. This tea is now a summer staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington Station, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
The tea came out perfect! I had seen other recipes that were more complicated, but this one is easy and the tea tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 882) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States