Smooth Sweet Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This recipe is great with black tea or green tea! I usually use 3/4 Cup sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I never would have thought to use baking soda to cut the bitterness. Awesome thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jclark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Wonderful! We love tea but it often tastes bitter after a few hours and gets cloudy if it sits overnight. The addition of baking soda made it smooth tasting and not cloudy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Preston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
We make Sweet Tea with Luzianne teabags. 5 normal bags per half gallon.We use our Cuisinart Coffee maker. Bags in basket and brew 14 cups. Put in Half gallon pitcher with 3/4 Cup sugar. Try that and see what you think.Have heard of the baking soda thing, but we don't see the need or the difference if using it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Captain1200

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Excellent solution for bitter tea. I always have a jug of this tea in the fridge, make it in my 8-cup Pyrex measuring cup and don't have to worry about breakage. For those concerned about caffeine, I use decaffeinated green tea bags and never have a problem if we drink this at dinner time,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This recipe was both simple and sweet! I used Lipton Yellow Label Tea bags and 1/2 a cup of sugar instead of 3/4 and I found it sweet enough. I literally use to drive all the way to McDonald's in the middle of the night just to get Sweet Tea, but I'm glad I don't have to anymore because this tea is even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Phan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Make it all the time:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I made this to go with supper last night, and the whole family liked it, was gone in no time! I just put put some water on to boil, maybe a few cups, I didn't measure, and once it started boiling I added the baking soda and the tea bags, boiled for 6 minutes, the took it off the burner and scooped out the tea bags with a fork, the poured it in the pitcher putting a little cold water in it first because it was a plastic pitcher. I made a full gallon, and only used 9 tea bags and added about an extra half cup of sugar after doubling the recipe because my husband likes it a little sweeter. I'm not a big sweet tea fan and I liked this alot. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Delicious, smooth taste, and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I had no idea that a little baking soda would achieve exactly what I was looking to accomplish in my ideal sweet tea. Smooth indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JacksusQuickus

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 886) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States