Smooth Sweet Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Finally, tea that tastes like tea! We have been searching for years to recreate the taste of tea we remembered from when we were children. This is it! We're going to add a very small pinch of baking soda to hot tea and coffee just as an experiment. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
This is my favorite sweet tea! I use 2 Luzianne ice tea bags. I actually pour my sugar right into the pan and heat it up with the water, just like when I make simple syrup. I pour enough ice and cold water into a pitcher to make 6 cups total and stir my baking soda into that. Then when the tea is done seeping, I pour it right into the cold water and stir.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Really really good perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I make this recipe probably 3-10 times per week, dependent upon the number of guests we have in the home. I never change a thing except to make double or triple the amounts, as needed. Absolutely the best find on this website!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Very nice, great that it is not bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orillia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Great recipe! Bit too sweet for me so I reduced the amount of sugar until I figured out what works for my tastes. (I prefer 1/3 cup of sugar). The Baking soda really works... before then I always had this slimy film on top and it eradicated that problem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I love iced tea but can never drink it because it gives me heartburn and I don't like the bitterness. The baking soda trick is exactly what I needed. This is a little sweet for my taste, so I'll try cutting the sugar next time, and maybe adding a little mint. Wonderful simplicity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I wanted to see how close this tea was to the tea that I was raised on in Alabama. I was very pleasantly surprised. The proportions of ingredients are perfect. It's definitely sweet, without being painfully sweet. It's the perfect drink to sip on while you are sitting on the front porch! My 5 year old son tried it, and LOVED it! You made this Alabama girl proud! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
The best. Garnish with fresh mint and a lemon slice or use frozen cubes of lemon juice. I rimmed the glass with Cat Hill's Minty Sugar, sooooo good on a hot day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Pretty much the best sweet tea I've ever made:) definitely add the baking soda to cut the bitterness! Perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 858) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States