Smooth Sweet Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Absolutely love. This is something I will be keeping on hand in the fridge all summer long. Don't forget the pinch of baking soda, it really does make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
HAD NO IDEA TEA COULD BE THIS GOOD. WE USED LESS SUGAR. AND ONE TIME DIET SUGAR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I did not like the aftertaste the baking soda left. The key to a non-bitter tea is not to let the tea bags steep too long. I made a second half-gallon: 3/4 c sugar in bottom of pitcher with 1 c HOT water stirred to make a simple syrup. Bring 2 qts water to boil, place 5 tea bags in HEAT PROOF glass bowl and pour water over them. Allow to steep for 10 minutes. Pour into the half-gallon pitcher containing the simple syrup, stir well and top with cool water to fill. Let sit to come to room temperature before putting in fridge so you don't get cloudy tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
My family loved this tea. I've always used powdered tea. Now this recipe is a staple in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
The sweetness was overpowering. I will be using this recipe again, but next time I'll definitely only use half of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Surprisingly good! I was somewhat skeptical of putting baking soda in ice tea but figured that I'd give it a try. I'm very pleased that I did! I followed the recipe exactly but for a couple of procedural steps. I changed the steps a bit because I didn't have a glass pitcher and didn't feel comfortable pouring boiling water into my cheap plastic pitcher. This way made it possible to have the same great results without my worrying over whether or not my pitcher would hold up to the boiling water. Here's what I did: First, I started with a 4 cup glass measuring cup and heated the 2 cups of water to boiling in the microwave. While that was going on, I filled a plastic pitcher with 6 cups of cool water and got the 6 tea bags ready along with the baking soda. By this time the water in the microwave was boiling and I took it out and added the pinch of baking soda directly to the measuring cup of boiling water. I then placed the 6 tea bags into the measuring cup and placed a small plate over the top of the measuring cup. I waited the 15 minutes, took out the 6 tea bags and added the 3/4 cup of sugar and stirred it inside the measuring cup for about 2 minutes to ensure that all the sugar had dissolved. I then poured the tea/sugar mixture into the plastic pitcher containing the 6 cups of cool water and stirred again for a minute or two. Then into the fridge it went until the next day. It was excellent! and had absolutely no acidity or bitterness whatsoever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Longstreth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I love this recipe as it is. It is a crowd pleaser. When I'm making it for myself, I add less sugar. It works with any kind of tea, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I've never had great luck making sweet or iced tea. I can bake my own bread make pastry yet, time and again my sweet teas always turned out bitter, and ended up down the drain. I'm happy to agree with all the reviews here the baking soda makes a huge difference! I will be making this sweet tea from now on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily w

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
use 3/4 c sugar- awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
My husband is SUPER picky about his Sweet Tea, and I have tried other recipes. My family was not impressed until I tried this version. This recipe is a keeper! I followed the advice of another and added only 4 cups of cold water to make it Extra Sweet... I have made TWO double-batches already today! Thank you so much for sharing!! I will now save $$ AND help the environment by not having to purchase several bottles of Pure Leaf (formerly Lipton) Extra Sweet Tea every day!! Yay!!!! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 913) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States