Smooth Sweet Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Taste great, will be my summer drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This is the only recipe for sweet tea that I use. It comes out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Can not believe being from a southern family this wasn't a wide known trick. Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Excellent! Having grown up in Florida and moved to Michigan there isn't much sweet tea here. This is by far the best I've had since I was a kid. I'm sure the baking soda did the trick because it's not a least bit bitter. My new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Hamilton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This is the exact recipe given to my sister and I years ago by our neighbor, a sweet little southern lady who would constantly tell us how we were "makin' that tea all wrong!!" She said the baking soda kept it from getting cloudy as well as taking out the bitter edge. BEST TEA EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Be careful, too heavy a pinch of baking soda tastes salty. I wou1ld make this again and again but I have another procedure that works for me: Fill my 2 qt pitcher almost full with water from the hot tap (our hot water is softened) plus 1 or 2 large tea bags (Tetley or Luzianne). Heat this on high in the microwave for 10 minutes and let sit until cool enough to handle. Remove tea bags, add a big scoop of turbinado sugar (probably 3/4 cup). Chill and serve over ice. I add other flavor teas occasionally (orange spice, chai, mint, ...). We had some issues with our kitchen sink that required turning off the cold water for a few days. This is when I discovered that softened water makes a smother tea with no clouding or bitterness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This recipe is great with black tea or green tea! I usually use 3/4 Cup sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I never would have thought to use baking soda to cut the bitterness. Awesome thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jclark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Wonderful! We love tea but it often tastes bitter after a few hours and gets cloudy if it sits overnight. The addition of baking soda made it smooth tasting and not cloudy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Preston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
We make Sweet Tea with Luzianne teabags. 5 normal bags per half gallon.We use our Cuisinart Coffee maker. Bags in basket and brew 14 cups. Put in Half gallon pitcher with 3/4 Cup sugar. Try that and see what you think.Have heard of the baking soda thing, but we don't see the need or the difference if using it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Captain1200

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 882) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States