Smooth Sweet Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Simple recipe for delicious iced tea. Everyone has their own preference when it comes to the sweetness, so just adjust the sugar to your tastes. I prefer 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebby713

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Best sweet tea ever! Do not neglect to add the baking soda. That is what makes it taste like traditional, old-fashioned sweet tea. I fell in love with sweet tea while attending a teaching conference in South Carolina and I wanted to recreate it at home. When I make this, it tastes almost as good as the real deal I had in the south. Brings back great memories of an exciting time. Thank you for sharing this simple and delicious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA
Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Super simple. Fast and easy clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by entikryst

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Truly the best sweet tea I've ever tasted. Definitely saving this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I never was much of a tea drinker and didn't know how to make good tea. I was having to make tea for the family gathering for Christmas Eve and found this recipe. I followed the ingredients list exactly, but I changed the method a bit. I wasn't sure my glass pitcher could stand boiling water poured into it, so I boiled the water in a pan, turned it off, put in the pinch of baking soda and steeped the tea bags directly in the pan with the 2 cups of water. While it was steeping, I poured the cool 6 cups of water in the pitcher. When steeping time was up, I removed the tea bags and dissolved the sugar in the pan before pouring into the pitcher with the cool water. My grandson likes the full amount of sugar. I can do with a couple of tablespoons less. It's great tea and very smooth, not bitter. Thank you! Now I'm a tea drinker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
You a tad less sugar next time, but still great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This tastes identical to Publix sweet tea! Who knew that baking soda would take care of the bitter aftertaste in homemade tea! I will forever make my sweet tea at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I made this tea yesterday. I am glad I reduced the sugar because I found it to be too sweet. I will use this recipe but I will continue to use less sugar. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I found this recipe in a Southern Living magazine several years ago written by a man about his grandmothers tea. he said she had a special pan that was only used for tea. I made it one summer and everyone loved and i promptly lost the recipe. I am so glad I found it again because the baking soda is the best secret.. I will make several copies and put them everywhere so I don't loose it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diva2085

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Orchard Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Made this recipe last night. It was delicious! I reduced some of the ingredients though... Instead of 3/4 cups of sugar, I put a 1/4 and 1/8 cup. Also, instead of 6 tea bags I only used 3. It was a success! Definitely using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G.Rumble

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 859) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States