Smooth Poblano Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
This is my recipe, and they did not include 3 green onions to the ingredients. I have contacted them but they have never fixed it. So, add 3 green onions to ingredients and chop it up with everything else. Also the water can be adjusted to how thick you like your sauce. I usually start with a half cup and add to my consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
added some anaheim peppers and red onion, seeded the jalepenos. just enough kick for those with spicy taste but mild enough for those who aren't so spicy. None left. Great on fish, pork and chicken as a condiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephluve

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
First, I agree with the original "owner" Nia, it certainly doesn't need a full cup of water; would be way to thin. I used 1/2 c and the consistancy was good. But on taste? I followed exactly, including the 1/2 c water and 3 green onions, just seemed like it needed something, like something was missing....not sure what yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I go to Laredo, TX for work and eat at a little taco stand outside of a truck stop there. They make a salsa of butter, peppers and cilantro. I love the stuff but wanted a healthier option. This is it! WOW! I omitted the lettuce, doubled the peppers (for my tastes) and still added about 1 C melted butter. This stuff is knock your socks off good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
For me, it needed the juice of two limes and four poblanos, two per the recipe and two roasted, gutted, and skinned. Mmmmmm tasty. I seeded my japalenos two and went with less water. Makes a great chip dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
WOW fantastic flavor! I was looking for the recipe for the green (avacado jalapeno tasting) sauce we always got at the taco truck down the street. This is exactly like it. I love it on tacos, as a dip or on tamales. I didn't know what hass avacados were and I think I used to big of avacados because mine was very thick so I had to thin it with more water. But it was still very spicy and tasty! This will be a staple in our house for sure. My husband took it to work and everyone wants me to make them some. I did add a little lemon juice to keep the avacado from turning brown as it started to do on the top, just a couple table spoons. Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deneen Carleton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I thought this salsa was awesome! I mainly followed the recipe, except substituted lettuce for cabbage. I loved the taste of poblanos in this salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Not bad, but not great. A little too much avocado for me, and I love avocado. Next time, I would decrease the amount. The spice is perfect, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I also cut the water to a 1/4 cup and added approximately 1/4 cup of fresh lime juice. I think this is what the recipe was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
PERFECT!!! I made this recipe last night and I can't stop eating it! I made the salsa exactly as the recipe stated (except maybe a little light on the salt), using my own home-grown poblanos and jalapenos. I was impressed by how quick and easy it was to make, especially when compared to traditional salsas. The flavor was outstanding! It was the cool, creamy flavor of a good guacamole followed by a nice kick of spice. I would almost qualify this recipe as closer to a spicy guacamole than a salsa. I can't wait to make this for my next house party! This may not replace the salsa at my next party, but it will definitely be my new go-to guacamole dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Plainville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States