Smooth Double Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Excellent, I tweaked it a wee bit, I used special dark chips, and the white chocolate chips, no sugar added, it was sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This is seriously the most delicious frosting I've ever tasted. You can eat it out of the bowl with a spoon and forget the cake all together. It takes much longer than 30 minutes to firm up enough to whip though. I waited 2 hours and I still had to be really quick piping it on to the cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This is gr8! It turned out perfectly for my cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Just as the other reviewers stated, this is crazy delicious. I didn't have white chocolate chips so i just doubled up on regular chocolate. i made the frosting first then let it chill in the fridge while i baked the cake so by the time it was cooled and ready for frosting it was at the perfect consistency. I, too, thoroughly enjoy eating this on its own, sans cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This frosting is so incredible. It comes out so creamy and smooth in the end. My cousin and I made this for a black magic cake that is also on this site. We put a bit more semi chocolate than white chocolate and put 4 tablespoons of Tim Hortons cappuccino mix with the hot cream. My cousin loved it so much, he was tempted to eat the whole batch without the cake! My only complaint was that it melts very fast when frosting, but solidifies pretty quick after it's whipped the second time and put in the fridge overnight. Still, it went well with everyone, so I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Excellent!. Unlike some greasy frostings, this is light and fluffy - and not too sweet! It has a very nice rich flavor. I'd give it 6 stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Excellent frosting! I have a new favorite. I did follow your note and leave in the fridge for about an hour and half. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
This is seriously one of the best frostings I've ever tasted. I ate it on top of a cupcake but honestly the cupcake is totally unnecessary. I love that it's got a rich semi-sweet chocolate taste yet doesn't seem heavy or overpowering. This frosting is definitely one that I can't wait to have again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nurseluther
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
*Note from the author*: I submitted this recipe a while ago. I've re-made it now that it was published here. It really is quite delicious! But- I need to suggest a few changes. First, it will take longer than 30 mins to get cold enough to whip. Mine took about an hour and a half (though this will depend on how cold your fridge is). Second, after frosting your cake, chill until serving. Like buttercream, it will tend to melt a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
wow! this frosting is incredibly good! This essentially ends tasting much like chocolate mousse. It's very rich, creamy and chocolaty but also light and smooth. Very nice alternative to the dense, heavier buttercream frostings. It's easy to prepare, but I found it helped to chill it a while longer to let it firm up more. You'll be happy to put any leftover into a serving dish to eat as a dessert by itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jazzguitarist

Cooking Level: Expert



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Chocolate Ganache

See how to make rich homemade dark chocolate ganache.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States