Smooth Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
AWESOME!!!!! I've made this recipe twice and both times it disappeared before I could take a pic only things I suggest is to cook it at 325 F so it doesn't brown and keep a close watch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I loved this recipe!! I didn't have any shortening so I just substituted it with butter!! Tasted Awesome!! Best icing recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Fantastic frosting! Better then out of a can any day. We don't have shortening in Europe so I used all butter and my boys ate the frosting first, before the chocolate cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aliciamarie
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
great consistency but i like the one i usually use better, for taste. I will definitely keep this recipe though! the cupcakes were so cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mother Ann
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This is a great recipe! I like sweet buttercream frosting, but most people do not. I believe this fits the bill! I made a birthday cake that was shared with many people, some who do not care for sweets and they all declared this delicious! It was just the perfect spreading consistency, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I love this recipe! The only thing is that the servings are very underestimated (of course, I am piping rather than spreading the frosting, if that makes a difference). Anyways, I adjusted the frosting to frost 24 cupcakes, and in the end I had enough frosting to frost 60! I'm not complaining, as now I don't have to make as big of a second batch, but be warned if you aren't making that many cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
The only change I made was to use all butter instead of shortening. This icing is sweet, but it's icing- it's supposed to be sweet! This recipe made EXACTLY enough to ice an 8 inch double layer cake. It went on smoothly, looked pretty, and tasted great. As a novice baker I really appreciate when things are as easy and turn out as well as this buttercream icing has for me. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Rather greasy. I needed to doctor it up with more powdered sugar and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This buttercream is the best I didn't think I would like it because of the shortening but it is absolutely amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I found this recipe and made it exactly as written. All I could taste was shortening. That's when I added more vanilla, lemon and even a vanilla bean to mask the shortening taste. Not gonna' happen. Now it tastes like sweet vanilla-lemon shortening. Did I mention that it tastes like shortening?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovefoodinPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States