Smooth Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mother Ann
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This is a great recipe! I like sweet buttercream frosting, but most people do not. I believe this fits the bill! I made a birthday cake that was shared with many people, some who do not care for sweets and they all declared this delicious! It was just the perfect spreading consistency, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I love this recipe! The only thing is that the servings are very underestimated (of course, I am piping rather than spreading the frosting, if that makes a difference). Anyways, I adjusted the frosting to frost 24 cupcakes, and in the end I had enough frosting to frost 60! I'm not complaining, as now I don't have to make as big of a second batch, but be warned if you aren't making that many cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
The only change I made was to use all butter instead of shortening. This icing is sweet, but it's icing- it's supposed to be sweet! This recipe made EXACTLY enough to ice an 8 inch double layer cake. It went on smoothly, looked pretty, and tasted great. As a novice baker I really appreciate when things are as easy and turn out as well as this buttercream icing has for me. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Rather greasy. I needed to doctor it up with more powdered sugar and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This buttercream is the best I didn't think I would like it because of the shortening but it is absolutely amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I found this recipe and made it exactly as written. All I could taste was shortening. That's when I added more vanilla, lemon and even a vanilla bean to mask the shortening taste. Not gonna' happen. Now it tastes like sweet vanilla-lemon shortening. Did I mention that it tastes like shortening?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Loved this recipe. Was the perfect amount to dirty ice a 9X13 layered cake. The ingredient amounts were spot on. This will be my go to from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
very nice taste. not over powering with the sugar. it tasted professional, great for my girls 2nd bday cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eydie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I loved this recipe!!!! I used 4 cups of sugar instead of 5, and it still turned out good! I couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Smooth and creamy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenSchulz

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States