Smooth Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
OMYGOODNESS!!! this is the perfect recipe! Tasted like betty crocker! make sure you mix he shortening and butter together very well until they are super whipped - other than that, it was perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I had to add a few tsp of milk, but other than that it was great. Super sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Love this! Made it chocolate by adding 6 tablespoons hershey's baking cocoa powder and increased the milk to 8 tablespoons. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This is the first time I've made frosting, and I think I did pretty well. This recipe was simple and easy and oh so delicious. I did end up adding a little more milk than called for, and I also added almond extract because I love it. I used butter flavored shortening and it turned out perfectly. Will definitely do this again, so much better than store-bought frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raad123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belmont, Michigan, USA
Photo by Mimi
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
LOVED this frosting! I try to avoid shortening in recipes, but this mix of butter and shortening are perfect! Makes a beautiful topping to cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Perfect consistency and flavour! I halved the recipe and it was almost enough to frost two 8" round cakes (a touch more would have been preferable). The whole recipe would have been far too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Awesome recipe! Perfect ratio of all ingredients, excellent taste and consistency for spreading :) Made more than enough to frost and fill two 9" cakes. Everyone raved, thanks for submitting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This is your standard buttercream recipe! No need to change a thing creamy and Delicious! I used this frosting for my red velvet cookies I made turned out fantastic!! I couldnt stop licking my fingers...lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2013
FANTASTIC!! I used butter flavored shortening and added 1T lemon juice (went over a lemon cake). I couldn't stop licking my fingers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luna13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Used this recipe for my sons birthday cake. Love it. Not a big fan of buttercream, but this one is nice and smooth and not too sweet. Very good. Will use this recipe many many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hunter, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States