Smooth Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Basic buttercream frostings don't vary much in terms of ingredients; butter and or shortening, powdered sugar, flavoring (usually vanilla) and liquid (usually milk). Where they do vary is in the amounts of the ingredients, less or more fat, less or more powdered sugar, and so on. This recipe has those measurements nailed on all counts, and I particularly liked the combination of shortening and butter. (I happen to be in Naples now where it is Africa hot, so I needed the sturdier holding power of the shortening) I stuck to the measurements precisely, but fiddled with the flavoring slightly - a half teaspoon each of vanilla, almond extract and butter flavor and just a pinch of salt. There aren't too many buttercream frostings I like well enough to eat directly from the decorating bag (once finished with it of course) like this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I used this for a red velvet cake and took it to my son's for a cookout. I used butter flavored crisco for the shortening.It was fantastic. I will use this recipe from now on. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Living In: Oakland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Yummy frosting! Great texture and I really like the flavor. This is a riff on a buttercream I make pretty frequently and the milk really helps the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This is the first time I've made frosting, and I think I did pretty well. This recipe was simple and easy and oh so delicious. I did end up adding a little more milk than called for, and I also added almond extract because I love it. I used butter flavored shortening and it turned out perfectly. Will definitely do this again, so much better than store-bought frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raad123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belmont, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I could really taste the shortening at first. I added about 2 more tsp of van and let it sit at room temp for awhile and then mixed it again and it tasted better. Does harden up nicely so I will be using this batch to decorate the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Love this! Made it chocolate by adding 6 tablespoons hershey's baking cocoa powder and increased the milk to 8 tablespoons. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I had to add a few tsp of milk, but other than that it was great. Super sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This is your standard buttercream recipe! No need to change a thing creamy and Delicious! I used this frosting for my red velvet cookies I made turned out fantastic!! I couldnt stop licking my fingers...lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This buttercream is the best I didn't think I would like it because of the shortening but it is absolutely amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I loved this recipe!!!! I used 4 cups of sugar instead of 5, and it still turned out good! I couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States