Smoky Steak Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Nice smoky flavor BUT way too salty. I kinda thought it may be so I had reduced the seasoned salt to 2T and increased the garlic powder (we really like garlic.) It was still just on the edge of being too salty to eat. Will definitely make again but decrease the seasoned salt to 1T, maybe add some of my own seasonings and some chopped garlic cloves. Cooked up really well though. Took a photo but my phone apparently doesn't take a large enough file, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maia Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
way too much salt. I'm going to try this marinade again but I'm going to omit the table salt and use half or less of the season salt. Hopefully that change will make it taste as good as it sounded when I first read it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I marinated steaks with this and my family did not like them at all. They were too dry and tasted more like low quality beef jerky. Will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Very, very salty! This recipe has potential but needs tweaked a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
We let our frozen chicken breasts sit in this marinade all day and cut them up into strips before baking. Wonderful! Thanks! We will use this marinade often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Photo by gardengrl
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
For me the flavor is too strong to use as a marinade and I only marinated my steak for 45 minutes! Think it would work better as a sauce to baste your meat with while cooking. The flavor is good, 'am trying to think of a way to tone it down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardengrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Berwick, Maine, USA
Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
This is pretty good stuff. I did cut back the salt to 1 tsp of seasoned salt and whish I would have added just a bit more. It has a good smokey flavor and went through the meat very well. DH grilled these for us and we enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
This can be a great marinade if you don't use all the salt or all the powders! I cut the recipe in half for a 1 lb. sirloin steak. I didn't use any table salt and only half of the seasoned salt (basically 1/4 of what the original recipe called for. I used minced garlic and added 2 Tbsp. of olive oil. I let this marinate all day. The result was a very flavorful, tender, smoky cut of steak and sirloin is not the best cut of meat either so I was pleasantly surprised. I would definitely try this again but on strips or rib eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I think this recipe calls for wayyyy too much salt. After reading the reviews, I decided to cut out the table salt all together and reduce the seasoned salt to just one tablespoon. Next time I will use fresh garlic instead of garlic powder. All the "powders" made the marinade pretty thick. I like the concept of this marinade, it just didn't work out that well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I love a salty steak, but this is even too much. I didn't even use all the salt listed in the recipe and ours was still way too salty. I only marinated it for an hour, I can't even imagine how bad it would have been if I'd done it overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marinade for Steak I

See how to make a sensational marinade for steak.

The Best Steak Marinade

See how to make a super-simple, full-flavor marinade for grilled beef.

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States